Defragmentation
Four-Day Convention on Curating Contemporary Music

ONLINE PROGRAM

PROGRAM AS PDF

17 – 20 July, 10.00 – 18.00, Schader-Forum (Goethestraße 2, 64285 Darmstadt)

In English.
Free admission, registration is kindly requested:
defragmentation@darmstaedter-ferienkurse.de

Defragmentation — Curating Contemporary Music is a research project aimed at enduringly establishing the debates currently ongoing in many disciplines on gender & diversity, decolonization and technological change in institutions of New Music, as well as discussing curatorial practices in this field. Supported by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, the research is being jointly initiated by the Darmstadt Summer Course, Donaueschingen Festival and MaerzMusik — Festival für Zeitfragen and in cooperation with the Ultima Festival Oslo. A key goal is to accelerate structural and habitual change with respect to these interlinked thematic areas and develop better practices. Each of the festivals seeks to achieve this goal in its own way in collaboration with artists, researchers and curators from various fields, and subsequently shares the results of the process adopted. On the basis of this (self-)critical yet generative ­a­pproach the project seeks to act as a catalyst and, through its cooperation with four renowned international festivals, ensure continuity and a high profile.

In the four-day event with, among other things, thematic lectures, artistic interventions, workshops, think tanks, listening sessions, film screenings and open space events, an intensive atmosphere will emerge that allows new insights and the development of a broad discussion.

With contributions by: Freida Abtan, Heloisa Amaral, Joanne Armitage, Camille C. Baker, Lendl Barcelos, Diann Bauer, Sandeep Bhagwati, Georgina Born, Joseph Browne, Raven Chacon, Anke Charton, Amy Cimini, Bill Dietz, Corinne Diserens, Patrick Frank, Elinor Frey, Jérôme Glicenstein, Björn Gottstein, GRiNM, Lars Petter Hagen, Stefan Heidenreich, Sofia Jernberg, Sarah Kember, Hannah Kendall, George E. Lewis, Florian Malzacher, Julia Mihály, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Tim Perkis, Berno Odo Polzer, Brian Reinbolt, Trond Reinholdtsen, Dorothee Richter, Marina Rosenfeld, Tim Rutherford-Johnson, Thomas Schäfer, Alexander Schubert, Christabel Stirling, Terre Thaemlitz, Felix del Tredici, Martin Tröndle, Rolando Vázquez, Stellan Veloce and others

Program: Heloisa Amaral, Camille C. Baker, Georgina Born, Björn Gottstein, Lars Petter Hagen, George E. Lewis, Tim Perkis, Berno Odo Polzer, Thomas Schäfer

In collaboration with the Schader-Stiftung

Project Management: Katja Heldt

A project of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the International Music Institute Darmstadt (IMD) / the Darmstadt Summer Course, the Donaueschinger Musiktage, of ­MaerzMusik — Festival for Time Issues and in cooperation with Ultima Festival Oslo

Print page

Defragmentation
Viertägige Convention zum Kuratieren Neuer Musik

ONLINE-PROGRAMM

PROGRAMM ALS PDF

17. – 20. Juli, 10:00 – 18:00, Schader-Forum (Goethestraße 2, 64285 Darmstadt)

In englischer Sprache.
Eintritt frei, Anmeldung erwünscht:
defragmentation@darmstaedter-ferienkurse.de

Defragmentation – Curating Contemporary Music ist ein Forschungsprojekt mit dem Ziel, die aktuell in vielen Sparten geführten Diskurse um Gender & Diversity, Dekolonisierung und technologischen Wandel nachhaltig in Institutionen der Neuen Musik zu verankern und kuratorische Praktiken in diesem Bereich zu diskutieren. Gefördert von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, wird die Recherche gemeinsam von den Darmstädter Ferienkursen, Donaueschinger Musiktagen, MaerzMusik – Festival für Zeitfragen und in Kooperation mit dem Ultima Festival Oslo getragen. Dabei geht es vor allem darum, strukturellen und habituellen Wandel hinsichtlich dieser ineinandergreifenden Themenbereiche zu beschleunigen und bessere Praktiken zu entwickeln. In Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Kurator*innen aus verschiedenen Bereichen versucht jedes der Festivals, dies auf je eigene Weise in Angriff zu nehmen und Ergebnisse ihres Prozesses zu teilen. Auf der Basis dieses (selbst-)kritischen und doch generativen Ansatzes will das Projekt Katalysator sein und durch die Kooperation von vier prominenten Festivals für Aufmerksamkeit und Kontinuität sorgen.

In der viertägigen Veranstaltung bei den Darmstädter Ferienkursen mit thematischen Lectures, künstlerischen Interventionen, Workshops, Think Tanks, Listening Sessions, Filmvorführungen, Open Spaces u.a. wird eine verdichtete Situation entstehen, in der einerseits Wissen entsteht und gleichzeitig eine breite Diskussion eröffnet werden kann.

Mit Beiträgen von: Freida Abtan, Heloisa Amaral, Joanne Armitage, Camille C. Baker, Lendl Barcelos, Diann Bauer, Sandeep Bhagwati, Georgina Born, Joseph Browne, Raven Chacon, Anke Charton, Amy Cimini, Bill Dietz, Corinne Diserens, Patrick Frank, Elinor Frey, Jérôme Glicenstein, Björn Gottstein, GRiNM, Lars Petter Hagen, Stefan Heidenreich, Sofia Jernberg, Sarah Kember, Hannah Kendall, George E. Lewis, Florian Malzacher, Julia Mihály, Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung, Tim Perkis, Berno Odo Polzer, Brian Reinbolt, Trond Reinholdtsen, Dorothee Richter, Marina Rosenfeld, Tim Rutherford-Johnson, Thomas Schäfer, Alexander Schubert, Christabel Stirling, Terre Thaemlitz, Felix del Tredici, Martin Tröndle, Rolando Vázquez, Stellan Veloce und anderen

Programm: Heloisa Amaral, Camille C. Baker, Georgina Born,
Björn Gottstein, Lars Petter Hagen, George E. Lewis, Tim Perkis,
Berno Odo Polzer und Thomas Schäfer

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Schader-Stiftung

Projektmanagement: Katja Heldt

Ein Projekt der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und des Internationalen Musikinstituts Darmstadt (IMD) / der Darmstädter Ferienkurse, der Donaueschinger Musiktage, von MaerzMusik –­ ­Festival für Zeitfragen sowie in Kooperation mit dem Ultima Festival Oslo

Seite drucken