de en

– This event has already taken place –

Atlas of the Sky
European Premiere of Liza Lim's newest work for voice, percussion and crowd

Thu 19 July 2018, 19.30
Lichtenbergschule (Große Sporthalle)

Tickets Find on Map

Liza Lim: Atlas of the Sky (2018) for soprano, 3 percussionists and chorus / crowd

  1. Crowd of the dead
  2. Military crowds (the orchestra, the army, the hunting pack)
  3. Surveillance
  4. Protest
  5. Crowds of the living
  6. Communion between the living and the dead

Astronomer Carl Sagan said that ‘we are made of starstuff’, our bodies literally comprised of the calcium, iron and nitrogen from collapsing stars. Countless poets of course have sung of stars and love and longing, and movies such as Star Trek, Star Wars, Interstellar, A Space Odyssey, set their adventures amongst the stars. There is this human desire to exist in relationship with the stars, mapping stories and first myths, intuitions, destinies and the finest feelings to these unimaginably distant points of light.
Crowds too can be rather like the stars in the sense of a myriad form made up of collections of life-stories that map lines and points of influence and energy.

Drawing upon Elias Canetti’s book ‘Crowds and Power’, and striking poetry by Eliot Weinberger and by exiled contemporary Chinese poet Bei Dao that describe and invoke the stars, Atlas of the Sky by Australian composer Liza Lim is a ritual journey across a range of emotions and states connected to crowds, mobs, protest and communion.

Jessica Aszodi (soprano)

Speak Percussion:
Kaylie Melville
Matthias Schack-Arnott
Eugene Ughetti

Participants of the Darmstadt Summer Course (Crowd)

Music Director: Eugene Ughetti
Movement Director: Jo Lloyd
Lighting Designer: Keith Tucker – Megafun
Production Management: Megafun
Sound Design: Tilman Robinson
Producers: Michaela Coventry and Sheah Sutton

Supported by Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Atlas of the Sky was also assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body and the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria. Speak Percussion is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body; the Victorian Government through Creative Victoria and the Department of Education and Training; City of Melbourne and City of Darebin.

Print page
© ️Jeff Busby

de en

– Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden –

Atlas of the Sky
Europäische Erstaufführung des neuen abendfüllenden Werks von Liza Lim für Stimme, Percussion und Crowd

Do 19. Juli 2018, 19:30
Lichtenbergschule (Große Sporthalle)

Tickets Auf Karte finden

Liza Lim: Atlas of the Sky (2018) for soprano, 3 percussionists and chorus / crowd

  1. Crowd of the dead
  2. Military crowds (the orchestra, the army, the hunting pack)
  3. Surveillance
  4. Protest
  5. Crowds of the living
  6. Communion between the living and the dead

“Wir bestehen aus Sternenasche”, hat der Astronom Carl Sagan gesagt, in unseren Körpern sei das Kalzium, das Eisen und der Stickstoff kollabierender Sterne enthalten. Natürlich haben zahlreiche Dichter Sterne, Liebe und Sehnsucht besungen und Filme wie Star Trek, Star Wars, Interstellar oder A Space Odyssey verlegen ihre Abenteuer ins Reich der Sterne. Offenbar gibt es ein menschliches Verlangen, die eigene Existenz zu den Sternen in Beziehung zu setzen und Geschichten, Ursprungsmythen, Ahnungen, Schicksale und feinste Empfindungen mit diesen unvorstellbar weit entfernten Lichtpunkten zu verbinden.
Analog zu den Sternen bilden auch Menschenmassen (“crowds”) eine aus unzähligen kleinsten Bestandteilen zusammengesetzte Form: aus Sammlungen von Lebensgeschichten, in denen Linien und Punkte von Einfluss und Energie aufgezeichnet sind.

Basierend auf Elias Canettis Buch Masse und Macht, der eindrucksvollen Lyrik von Eliot Weinberger sowie den Sternen-Gedichten des zeitgenössischen Exil-Chinesen Bei Dao, unternimmt das Stück Atlas of the Sky der australischen Komponistin Liza Lim eine rituelle Reise durch Emotionen und Zustände, die mit Massen, Mobs, Protest und Kommunikation verbunden sind.

Jessica Aszodi (Sopran)

Speak Percussion:
Kaylie Melville
Matthias Schack-Arnott
Eugene Ughetti

Teilnehmer*innen der Darmstädter Ferienkurse (Crowd)

Musikalische Leitung: Eugene Ughetti
Bewegungsregie: Jo Lloyd
Lichtdesign: Keith Tucker – Megafun
Produktionskoordination: Megafun
Klangregie: Tilman Robinson
Produktion: Michaela Coventry and Sheah Sutton

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Atlas of the Sky wurde außedem unterstützt durch die Australische Regierung durch den Australia Council, dessen Fördereinrichtungen und die Regierung des Bundesstaates Victoria durch Creative Victoria. Speak Percussion wird unterstützt durch die Australische Regierung durch den Australia Council, dessen Fördereinrichtungen und die Regierung des Bundesstaates Victoria durch Creative Victoria und die Abteilung für Bildung und Weiterbildung sowie die Städte Melbourne und Darebin.

Seite drucken
© ️Jeff Busby