Artistic Research
Workshop Marko Ciciliani & Barbara Lüneburg

Artistic Research as Compositional or Performance Practice

With selection process (completed)
Deadline for submission of applications: 31 January 2018

For performers, composers and sound-artists who

  • wish to create a new composition, performance, improvisation or artwork which is imbued by an interest in artistic research,
  • are interested in enriching their artistic practice through rigorous self-reflection,
  • search for ways to indulge deeply into a specific topic based on methods of artistic research,
  • wish to develop new performance models through artistic research.
  • (are participants of the Darmstadt Summer Course 2018)

Maximum number of participants: 10-12

Topics/Goals

 

  1. Development of the participant’s artistic project (composition, performance, improvisation, soundart)
  2. Application and implementation of principles of artistic research in the participant’s own project.
  3. Discussion about the nature of artistic research. What is artistic research? What means of expression does it offer? How can an artist gain from artistic research for his or her own artistic practice?
  4. Introduction to different concepts, methods and procedures of artistic research.
  5. Development of unconventional forms of presentation of the research’s findings, e.g. through fusions of lectures and concerts, hybrids of methods of artistic practices or other alternative formats as discursive audience participation, public intervention, transmedia presentation (online/offline) or other formats.

Artistic research is a young discipline which has stirred up not only academic but also artistic discourse. It is based on the notion that knowledge is inherent in aesthetic experience and practice. This knowledge is not necessarily directly accessible through reason; it often evades the logic of language, and can therefore not be approached through regular research methods alone.

Artistic research does not follow a fixed set of procedures. Its practitioners typically work across scholarly and artistic disciplines, drawing from methodologies of other domains while adding an inside perspective specific to their individual artistic practice.

In this workshop, Marko Ciciliani and Barbara Lüneburg will shed light on various forms of artistic research and point out possible practices, methodologies, research goals and forms of presentation. Participants will be assisted to find and select the research tools that are appropriate for their project. Furthermore, they will be helped to find ways to share the gained knowledge through unconventional artistic expressions.

Print page

de en

Künstlerische Forschung
Workshop Marko Ciciliani & Barbara Lüneburg

Künstlerische Forschung als Kompositions- oder Aufführungspraxis

Mit Auswahlverfahren
Einsendeschluss für Bewerbungen: 31. Januar 2018

Für Darstellende Künstler*innen, Komponisten*innen und Klangkünstler*innen, die

  • eine neue Komposition, Performance, Improvisation, oder ein neues Kunstwerk schaffen möchten, das von einem Interesse an künstlerischer Forschung geleitet ist,
  • ihre künstlerische Praxis durch rigorose Selbstreflexion bereichern möchten,
  • sich mit Hilfe der Methoden der Künstlerischen Forschung eingehend mit einem bestimmten Thema befassen möchten,
  • durch Künstlerische Forschung neue Darbietungsmodelle entwickeln möchten.
  • (Teilnehmer*innen der Darmstädter Ferienkurse 2018 sind)

Maximale Teilnehmer*innenzahl: 10-12

Themen/Ziele:

  1. Entwicklung des künstlerischen Projekts der Teilnehmer*innen.
  2. Anwendung und Umsetzung von Grundsätzen der Künstlerischen Forschung in das eigene Projekt der Teilnehmer*innen.
  3. Diskussion über das Wesen der Künstlerischen Forschung. Was ist Künstlerische Forschung? Welche Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten bietet sie? Wie können Künstler*innen die Künstlerische Forschung für die eigene künstlerische Arbeit nutzen?
  4. Einführung in verschiedene Konzepte, Methoden und Verfahren der Künstlerischen Forschung.
  5. Entwicklung unkonventioneller Formen zur Darstellung der Forschungsergebnisse, z. B. durch die Verschmelzung von Vortrag und künstlerischer Darbietung, Kombination verschiedener Methoden der künstlerischen Praxis oder andere alternative Formate wie beispielsweise diskursive Partizipation der Zuhörerschaft, Public Interventions, transmediale Präsentation (online/offline) oder andere Formate.

Die Künstlerische Forschung ist eine junge Disziplin, die nicht nur einen akademischen, sondern auch einen künstlerischen Diskurs hervorgerufen hat. Sie geht davon aus, dass Erkenntnis ein inhärenter Teil der ästhetischen Erfahrung und Praxis ist. Diese Erkenntnis wird nicht in jedem Fall direkt über die Ratio gewonnen, sondern entzieht sich häufig der Logik der Sprache und kann deshalb nicht allein durch herkömmliche Forschungsmethoden erreicht werden.

Die Künstlerische Forschung setzt keine fest vorgegebenen Verfahren ein. Wer in diesem Bereich tätig ist, arbeitet in der Regel über wissenschaftliche und künstlerische Disziplinen hinweg und zieht Methoden anderer wissenschaftlicher Fachgebiete heran, die die Insiderperspektive und Methodologie aus der eigenen künstlerischen Praxis komplementieren.

In diesem Workshop werden Marko Ciciliani und Barbara Lüneburg verschiedene Formen der Künstlerischen Forschung beleuchten und mögliche Praktiken, Methoden, Forschungsziele und Darstellungsformen herausstellen. Die Teilnehmer*innen werden bei der Suche und Auswahl der für ihr Projekt geeigneten Forschungsmittel unterstützt. Zudem erhalten sie Hilfe bei der Suche nach unkonventionellen künstlerischen Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten zur Vermittlung der erworbenen Erkenntnisse.

Seite drucken