de en

– This event has already taken place –

Solo Works by Georges Aperghis, Marko Ciciliani, Heinz Holliger, Lucia Ronchetti and Rebecca Saunders

Sun 22 July 2018, 16.00
Akademie für Tonkunst (Großer Saal)

Few Tickets (10 €) at the box office.

Find on Map

Rebecca Saunders: flesh (2018) World Premiere
Krassimir Sterev (Accordion)

Marko Ciciliani: Formula minus One (2014)
Barbara Lüneburg (Electric violin)

Lucia Ronchetti: Forward and downward, turning neither to the left nor to the right. Action concert piece after Plutarch and Károly Kerényi (2017)
Michele Marco Rossi (Cello)

Heinz Holliger: Lied (1971)
Georges Aperghis: Cadenza for Kurt Schwitters’ “Ursonate” (2011)
Georges Aperghis: Extrait de Lunapark pour flûte basse (2011)
Michael Schmid (Flute)

The specific attributes of individual instruments — their playing techniques, their repertoire and how to compose for them — are always a particular ­focus at the Darmstadt Summer Course. Accordingly, this concert will ­feature solo compositions that show how diversely composers deal with this question and performers realize it on stage: Rebecca Saunders, who will be offering a workshop on composing for accordion together with ­Krassimir Sterev, for whom she has written a highly nuanced new work. ­Lucia Ronchetti’s cello solo from 2017 works with a music-theatrical concept; the piece forms part of her series Action Concert Pieces or Drammaturgie, in which the instrumentalists adopt different roles. Here different characters are represented by instrumental voices, as well as the movements and vocal utterances of the cellist.
Heinz Holliger’s flute solo Lied, composed in 1971, is a milestone in the use of expanded techniques for the flute, featuring circular breathing, inhalting while playing, or blowing techniques adopted from brass instruments. As in many solo pieces of its time, it takes the physicality of instrumental performance to an extreme, almost violently pushing the player and the instrument to their limits. Finally, Marko Ciciliani’s piece Formula minus One, premiered at the 2014 Darmstadt Summer Course, uses sensors, live ­electronics and live video to expand an electric violin into a multimedia solo instrument.

Print page