de en

31.07.2021 AGAIN
Ensemble Modern and conductor Enno Poppe with works by Malin Bång, Brigitta Muntendorf, Olga Neuwirth and Alvin Singleton

MALIN BÅNG: BLOOMING BRUME

I have many memories from my childhood in Sävedalen that are drenched in timbres, sound and tones. Our brown suburban rowhouse had a location close to the highway and the railroad, in neighborhood there was also the ice cream factory and a garbage station. This counterpoint of continuous clouds of noise in the distance constituted our version of silence.

Our intense schoolyard activities appear like an articulated relief to this sounding backdrop; theater performances with historic topics were created, rapid conversations in the secret robber language were exchanged, and I spent many hours of passionate playing of the piano and the violin.

If the gradually changing noise structure is the foundation of the piece, these influential experiences appear as fragments within the noise layers and act like bridges between the sounding environment and my everyday activities. I imagine that we are all marked by the acoustics of our childhood, and that we perhaps unconsciously are drawn towards timbral surroundings like the ones we grew up with. Through the composition process of blooming brume I have happily and with a certain fling of nostalgia been exploring the sounds of Sävedalen with a new precision in my listening.

Malin Bång

ALVIN SINGLETON: AGAIN

Again, a chamber orchestra piece for 14 players, was commissioned by the Austrian Radio and awarded the musikprotokoll Prize for Composition. It lives sonically in two worlds, Jazz and Classical. Winds, brasses, strings, piano and percussion cycle through a variety of solos and ensemble textures. Again was first performed by London Sinfonietta in 1979 at the steirischer herbst in Graz/Austria.

Alvin Singleton

BRIGITTA MUNTENDORF: SONGS TWO_LOVE

Two love songs about the desire to be love songs.

Brigitta Muntendorf

Print page

de en

31.07.2021 AGAIN
Ensemble Modern und Dirigent Enno Poppe mit Werken von Malin Bång, Brigitta Muntendorf, Olga Neuwirth und Alvin Singleton

MALIN BÅNG: BLOOMING BRUME

Ich habe viele Erinnerungen an meine Kindheit in Sävedalen, die von Klangfarben, Geräuschen und Tönen durchtränkt sind. Unser braunes Vorstadt-Reihenhaus lag nahe der Autobahn und der Eisenbahn, in der Nachbarschaft befanden sich auch die Eiscremefabrik und eine Mülldeponie. Dieser Kontrapunkt von kontinuierlichen Geräuschwolken in der Ferne bildete unsere Version von Stille.

Zu dieser Klangkulisse bilden unsere intensiven Schulhofaktivitäten gleichsam ein artikuliertes Relief; es entstanden Theateraufführungen mit historischen Themen, rasante Unterhaltungen in der geheimen Räubersprache wurden ausgetauscht, und ich verbrachte viele Stunden mit leidenschaftlichem Klavier- und Geigenspiel.

Wenn die sich allmählich verändernde Geräuschstruktur das Fundament des Stücks bildet, erscheinen diese prägenden Erfahrungen als Fragmente innerhalb der Geräuschschichten und wirken wie Brücken zwischen der klingenden Umgebung und meinen alltäglichen Aktivitäten. Ich stelle mir vor, dass wir alle von der Akustik unserer Kindheit geprägt sind und dass wir uns vielleicht unbewusst zu klanglichen Umgebungen hingezogen fühlen, wie diejenigen, in denen wir aufgewachsen sind. Durch den Kompositionsprozess von blooming brume habe ich mit Freude und einem gewissen Anflug von Nostalgie die Klänge von Sävedalen mit einer neuen Präzision in meinem Hören erkundet.

Malin Bång (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

ALVIN SINGLETON: AGAIN

Again, ein Kammerorchesterstück für 14 Spieler*innen, wurde vom Österreichischen Rundfunk in Auftrag gegeben und mit dem musikprotokoll Kompositionspreis ausgezeichnet. Es lebt klanglich in zwei Welten, Jazz und Klassik. Holzbläser, Blechbläser, Streicher, Klavier und Schlagzeug durchlaufen eine Vielzahl von Soli und Ensembletexturen. Again wurde 1979 von der London Sinfonietta beim steirischen herbst in Graz/Österreich uraufgeführt.

Alvin Singleton (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

BRIGITTA MUNTENDORF: SONGS TWO_LOVE

Zwei Love-Songs über den Wunsch danach, Love-Songs zu sein.

Brigitta Muntendorf

Seite drucken