de en

05.08.2021 DENSITY 2036
Concert by New York flutist Claire Chase

FELIPE LARA: MEDITATION AND CALLIGRAPHY

From April to June 2014, I was fortunate to take part in a residency at Civitella Ranieri, a 15th-century castle turned foundation and residency in Umbria/Italy. One former fellow, G. Mend-Ooyo, a Mongolian poet and calligrapher particularly called my attention. He was born and raised by a nomadic herding family, in the Mongolian steppe; his work has been translated in forty languages.

I asked him to show me some of his work and he invited me to visit his studio in order to see the work he had produced during the residency at Civitella. Mend-Ooyo’s calligraphy particularly impressed me. The bold gestures, elemental lyricism and minute details were astounding to me. The following afternoon Mend-Ooyo presented me with two wonderful calligraphies, both in black, red, pencil, over a yellow and gold paper; one with the Mongolian symbol for music, the other with fire and water symbols. I asked Mend-Ooyo: “How do you create such incredible calligraphies?” He replied: “Meditation, meditation, meditation for a very long time… then calligraphy with one quick gesture.” I found the approach extremely poetic.

The following week Claire Chase arrived at the castle to work with me on Parábolas na Caverna and to play a solo concert. I decided to present Mend-Ooyo with a small piece, as a gesture of my gratitude. I decided that I would ‘meditate’ or imagine the general character of a solo bass flute work for an entire evening, then wake up and write it in less than 30 minutes.

The work uses the letters of G. Mend-Ooyo’s name as a starting point for the pitch material: G (sol), Me (E-flat, from solfege), D (re), Do (C) The vowel sounds from his name are also used to modulate the flute when singing and playing simultaneously is required.

Felipe Lara

SUZANNE FARRIN: THE STIMULUS OF LOSS

A friend introduced me to the idea of Emily Dickson’s letters. He quoted a phrase in a talk that I found astounding (“to multiply the harbors does not diminish the sea”). As I went searching for that phrase, I began to read others along the way, each with its own sparkling revelation of her genius.

Suzanne Farrin

GEORGE LEWIS: EMERGENT

Emergent is the first work in my Recombinant Trilogy, three works for solo instrument and electronics that use interactive digital delays, spatialization and timbre transformation to transform the acoustic sounds of the instrument into multiple digitally created sonic personalities that follow diverse yet intersecting spatial trajectories. Advancing a conversational aesthetic, albeit in non-improvised music, in these works foreground and background deliberately conflate. Doppelgängers are created that blur the boundaries between original and copy, while shrouding their origin in processes of repetition. As non-linearity is invoked and uncertainty is assured, the electronics and the solo instrument blend, intersect, diverge, or they suddenly converge into unified ensembles. The software for these works was written by Damon Holzborn, using the Max platform, and the spatial and timbral treatments were composed by me, using the software.

Emergent was commissioned by the Pnea Foundation and written for flutist Claire Chase. The work addresses Edgard Varèse’s avowed preference for sound-producing machines over sound-reproducing ones by addressing the composer’s 1936 introduction of a fourth dimension – “sound projection” – to music. Varèse’s statement seems to obliquely invoke the notion of spacetime, an interpretation supported by a 1968 account of one of the composer’s dreams that suggests the related notion of quantum teleportation as well as the sound of my piece. Varèse was in a telephone booth talking to his wife, who was at the time in Paris. According to his account, “his body became so light, so immaterial, so evanescent that suddenly, limb by limb, he disintegrated and flew away toward Paris, where he was reconstructed, as though all his being had become spirit.” (Fernand Ouellette, A Biography of Edgard Varèse, translated by Derek Coltman, New York: Orion Press 1968, p. 74.)

George Lewis

LIZA LIM: SEX MAGIC

Sex Magic is a 45-minute piece for contrabass flute (with alto ocarina, Aztec death whistle, bell, pedal bass drum), live electronics and installation of kinetic percussion written for and dedicated to Claire Chase.

This is a work about the sacred erotic in women’s history.

This is a work about an alternative cultural logic of women’s power as connected to cycles of the womb – the life-making powers of childbirth, the ‘skin-changing’, world-synchronizing temporalities of the body and the womb center as a site of divinatory wisdom and utterance.

The music was very much prompted by Claire’s connection to her contrabass flute named ‘Bertha’ which then suggested kinships to particular blown instruments, to drums and other percussion. The work is dedicated to Claire and to the voices, sentience and wisdom energies of these instruments. The work is divided into four major stages (with part 2 divided into 6 subsections):

Pythoness

Oracles:
I. Salutations to the cowrie shells
II. Womb-bell
III. Vermillion – on Rage
IV. Throat Song
V. Moss – on the Sacred Erotic
VI. Telepathy (silent meditation)

Skin Changing

The Slow Moon Climbs

Liza Lim

DU YUN: AN EMPTY GARLIC

Over the years, I have written quite a few pieces for Claire, each of them reflects who we were at the time, as well as our evolving understanding of each other…

As of late, I have been going back to relearn the classical forms. Growing up, playing any Sarabandes from Bach’s Suites was one of my favorite things to do. The playing always accompanied a sense of meditation, grief, bereavement and transcendence.

Historically however, the Sarabande had a rather provocative and coquettish beginning. It was said to have received its name at Seville from a fiend in the form of a woman. It was a group dance mainly done by women and was considered wild in manner and a highly sexual pantomime in nature, with undulations of the body, massive hip movements, flirtations, indecent song lyrics and women using castanets. When it was introduced to France, the dance included men who would dance it as well. They would occasionally use the tambourine, which was considered effeminate in those days. People who sang it were arrested, lashed and exiled in its younger days.

In the piece, I also looked into the orthodox chant, sung on the 24th of January: Xenia of Rome and Her Two Female Slaves (from the 5th century). In the hinted scents of Bach’s Sarabande you would hear from the beginning and ever so present throughout the piece, is a story behold between Claire and our beloved friend who passed away.

I often wonder about bereavement. When and how it pauses, recharges, morphs and restarts. Along the way, we possibly also hold bereavement reserved for ourselves too.

I am so close to you I am distant, I am so mingled with you I am apart, I am so open I am hidden, I am so strong I totter.

This is a fruit of life to me: intoxicating, in exile and always at home.

In memoriam of Elise Mann.

Du Yun

MARCOS BALTER: PAN

Pan is an evening-length musical drama for flute, live electronics and a large ensemble of community performers. It tells the story of the mythological goat-god Pan (one of only two Greek deities said to have been put to death) in a series of staged episodes exploring the contradictions and betrayals in Pan’s relationships. Members of the community in which the work is performed are collaborators alongside flutist Claire Chase, director Douglas Fitch and sound engineer Levy Lorenzo. Tonight’s performance is a concert presentation of three musical excerpts from the larger work: Death of Pan, Echo and Soliloquy.

Pan Creative Team

Print page

de en

05.08.2021 DENSITY 2036
Konzert mit der New Yorker Flötistin Claire Chase

FELIPE LARA: MEDITATION AND CALLIGRAPHY

Von April bis Juni 2014 hatte ich das Glück, mich in Civitella Ranieri aufhalten zu dürfen, einem Schloss aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, das zu einer Stiftung und einem Wohnsitz in Umbrien/Italien umgewandelt wurde. Ein ehemaliger Stipendiat, der mongolische Dichter und Kalligraf G. Mend-Ooyo, erregte besonders meine Aufmerksamkeit. Er ist in einer nomadischen Hirtenfamilie in der mongolischen Steppe geboren und aufgewachsen; sein Werk ist in vierzig Sprachen übersetzt worden.

Ich bat ihn, mir einige seiner Werke zu zeigen, und er lud mich ein, sein Atelier zu besuchen, um die Arbeiten, die er während des Aufenthalts in Civitella geschaffen hatte, zu sehen. Dabei hat mich Mend-Ooyos Kalligrafie besonders beeindruckt. Die kühnen Gesten, die elementare Lyrik und die winzigen Details waren für mich verblüffend. Am folgenden Nachmittag überreichte er mir zwei wunderbare Kalligrafien, beide in Schwarz, Rot, Bleistift, auf gelbem und goldenem Papier; eine mit dem mongolischen Symbol für Musik, die andere mit Feuer- und Wassersymbolen. Ich fragte ihn: „Wie schaffst du solche unglaublichen Kalligrafien?“ Mend-Ooyo antwortete: „Meditation, Meditation, Meditation für eine sehr lange Zeit… und dann Kalligrafie mit einer schnellen Geste.“ Ich fand diesen Ansatz äußerst poetisch.

In der folgenden Woche kam Claire Chase ins Schloss, um mit mir an Parábolas na Caverna zu arbeiten und ein Solokonzert zu geben. Ich be-schloss, Mend-Ooyo ein kleines Stück zu schenken, als Geste meiner Dankbarkeit. Ich beschloss, einen ganzen Abend lang zu ,meditieren‘ oder mir den allgemeinen Charakter eines Werks für Bassflöte solo vorzustellen, um dann aufzuwachen und es in weniger als 30 Minuten zu schreiben.

Das Werk verwendet die Buchstaben des Namens von G. Mend-Ooyo als Ausgangspunkt für das Tonmaterial: G (sol), Me (Es, aus dem Solfège), D (re), Do (C). Die Vokallaute seines Namens werden auch verwendet, um die Flöte zu modulieren, wenn gleichzeitig gesungen und gespielt werden muss.

Felipe Lara (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

SUZANNE FARRIN: THE STIMULUS OF LOSS

Ein Freund brachte mich auf die Idee, die Briefe von Emily Dickson zu lesen. In einem Vortrag zitierte er einen Satz, der mich verblüffte („die Häfen zu vermehren, bedeutet nicht, das Meer zu verkleinern“). Als ich mich auf die Suche nach diesem Satz begab, begann ich, weitere zu lesen, von denen jeder auf seine eigene Weise ihr Genie offenbart.

Suzanne Farrin (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

GEORGE LEWIS: EMERGENT

Emergent ist das erste Werk meiner Recombinant Trilogy. Dabei handelt es sich um drei Werke für Soloinstrument und Elektronik, die interaktive digitale Verzögerungen, Verräumlichung und Klangfarbentransformation nutzen, um die Klänge des Instruments in mehrere digital erzeugte Klangpersönlichkeiten zu verwandeln, die unterschiedlichen, sich jedoch überschneidenden räumlichen Bahnen folgen. In diesen Werken, die eine Ästhetik des Dialogs fördern – wenn auch in nicht improvisierter Musik –, verschmelzen Vorder- und Hintergrund absichtlich. Es werden Doppelgänger geschaffen, die die Grenzen zwischen Original und Kopie verwischen, während ihr Ursprung durch Wiederholungsprozesse verschleiert wird. Indem Nichtlinearität beschworen und Ungewissheit erzeugt werden, vermischen sich Elektronik und Soloinstrument, überschneiden sich, gehen auseinander oder verschmelzen plötzlich zu einem einheitlichen Ensemble. Die Software für diese Werke wurde von Damon Holzborn unter Verwendung der Plattform Max geschrieben, und die räumlichen und klanglichen Bearbeitungen wurden von mir unter Verwendung der Software komponiert.

Emergent wurde von der Pnea Foundation in Auftrag gegeben und für die Flötistin Claire Chase geschrieben. Das Werk setzt sich mit Edgard Varèses erklärter Vorliebe für klangerzeugende Maschinen gegenüber klangwiedergebenden Maschinen auseinander, indem es die 1936 vom Komponisten eingeführte vierte Dimension – die ,Klangprojektion‘ – in der Musik thematisiert. Varèses Aussage scheint sich indirekt auf den Begriff der Raumzeit zu beziehen; eine Interpretation, die durch einen 1968 verfassten Bericht über einen Traum des Komponisten gestützt wird, der den damit verbundenen Begriff der Quantenteleportation ebenso nahelegt wie den Klang meines Stücks. Varèse befand sich in einer Telefonzelle und sprach mit seiner Frau, die sich zu dieser Zeit in Paris aufhielt. Seinem Bericht zufolge „wurde sein Körper so leicht, so immateriell, so flüchtig, dass er sich plötzlich Glied für Glied auflöste und in Richtung Paris davonflog, wo er wiederhergestellt wurde, als wäre sein ganzes Wesen zu einem Geist geworden“. (Original: Fernand Ouellette, A Biography of Edgard Varèse, übersetzt durch Derek Coltman, New York: Orion Press 1968, S. 74.)

George Lewis (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

LIZA LIM: SEX MAGIC

Sex Magic ist ein 45-minütiges Stück für Kontrabassflöte (mit Alt-Okarina, aztekischer Todespfeife, Glocke, pedalbetriebener Bass Drum), Live-Elektronik und einer Installation kinetischer Percussion, das für Claire Chase geschrieben und ihr gewidmet wurde.

Dies ist ein Werk über die sakrale Erotik in der Geschichte der Frauen.

Es ist ein Werk über eine alternative kulturelle Logik der weiblichen Kraft/Macht, die mit den Zyklen der Gebärmutter verbunden ist – die Lebenskräfte der Geburt, die ,hautverändernden‘, welt-synchronisierenden Zeitlichkeiten des Körpers und das Zentrum der Gebärmutter als Ort göttlicher Weisheit und Äußerungsformen.

Die Musik wurde maßgeblich von Claires Verbindung zu ihrer Kontrabassflöte namens ,Bertha‘ angeregt, die sodann Verwandtschaften zu bestimmten Blasinstrumenten, zu Trommeln und anderen Schlaginstrumenten nahelegte. Das Werk ist Claire und den Stimmen, der Empfindsamkeit und den energetischen Weisheiten dieser Instrumente gewidmet. Es gliedert sich in vier Hauptabschnitte (wobei Teil 2 in 6 Unterabschnitte unterteilt ist):

Pythoness

Oracles:
I. Salutations to the cowrie shells
II. Womb-bell
III. Vermillion – on Rage
IV. Throat Song
V. Moss – on the Sacred Erotic
VI. Telepathy (silent meditation)

Skin Changing

The Slow Moon Climbs

Liza Lim (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

DU YUN: AN EMPTY GARLIC

Im Laufe der Jahre habe ich eine ganze Reihe von Stücken für Claire geschrieben. Jedes von ihnen spiegelt wider, wer wir zu der Zeit waren und wie sich unser Verständnis füreinander entwickelt hat…

In letzter Zeit habe ich begonnen, die klassischen Formen wieder zu entdecken. Als ich aufwuchs, war es eine meiner Lieblingsbeschäftigungen, Sarabanden aus Johann Selbastian Bachs Suiten zu spielen. Das Spiel ging immer mit einem Gefühl der Meditation, der Trauer, des Kummers und der Transzendenz einher.

Historisch gesehen hatte die Sarabande jedoch einen eher provokanten und koketten Anfang. In Sevilla soll sie ihren Namen von einem Unhold in Form einer Frau erhalten haben. Es handelt sich dabei um einen Gruppentanz, der hauptsächlich von Frauen getanzt wurde, und galt als wilde, höchst sexuelle Pantomime mit Körperbewegungen, massiven Hüftbewegungen, Flirten, unanständigen Liedtexten und Frauen, die Kastagnetten benutzten. Als der Tanz in Frankreich eingeführt wurde, tanzten auch die Männer mit. Gelegentlich benutzten sie das Tamburin, das damals als verweichlicht galt. Wer ihn sang, wurde in jungen Jahren verhaftet, ausgepeitscht und verbannt.

In dem Stück habe ich mich auch mit dem orthodoxen Gesang beschäftigt, der am 24. Januar gesungen wird: die Heilige Xena von Rom und ihre zwei Sklavinnen (aus dem 5. Jahrhundert). In den Anklängen an Bachs Sarabande, die von Beginn an zu hören und die während des gesamten Stücks allgegenwärtig ist, erklingt eine Geschichte zwischen Claire und unserer geliebten, verstorbenen Freundin.

Ich mache mir oft Gedanken über Trauer; wann und wie sie innehält, sich wieder auflädt, sich wandelt und neu beginnt. Auf dem Weg dorthin halten wir die Trauer vielleicht auch für uns selbst zurück.

Ich bin dir so nah, dass ich fern bin, ich bin so mit dir verwachsen, dass ich getrennt bin, ich bin so offen, dass ich versteckt bin, ich bin so stark, dass ich wanke.

Dies ist für mich eine Frucht des Lebens: berauschend, im Exil und immer zu Hause.

In memoriam Elise Mann.

Du Yun (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

MARCOS BALTER: PAN

Pan ist ein abendfüllendes Musikdrama für Flöte, Live-Elektronik und ein großes Ensemble von Mitwirkenden. Es erzählt die Geschichte des Ziegengottes Pan (eine von nur zwei griechischen Gottheiten, die – so wird es berichtet – getötet wurden) in einer Reihe von inszenierten Episoden, die die Widersprüche und den Verrat in Pans Beziehungen erkunden. Neben der Flötistin Claire Chase, dem Regisseur Douglas Fitch und dem Tontechniker Levy Lorenzo arbeiten auch Mitglieder der Gemeinde, in der das Werk aufgeführt wird, mit. Bei der heutigen Aufführung handelt es sich um eine konzertante Präsentation von drei musikalischen Auszügen aus dem Gesamtwerk: Death of Pan, Echo und Soliloquy.

Pan Creative Team (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

Seite drucken