de en

10.08.2021 MUSIC IN THE CITY
Presentation of the workshop with Cathy Milliken and David Helbich (Composition), Christian Dierstein and Françoise Rivalland (Percussion), Krassimir Sterev (Accordion), Marcus Weiss (Saxophone)

MUSIC IN THE CITY

The title already reveals it: the location of musical action is not the concert hall or stage, but instead the city with its public spaces. The project determines a part of these public areas as a sonic space, picks up musically on characters and design characteristics of urban space, thereby blending urbanity and experimental music to help shape public areas. The MUSIC IN THE CITY concert is the result of a call for composers for open-air works developed collaboratively with percussionists, saxophonists and accordionists. Composers and musicians worked together in order to realize scores and concepts for open-air music. In addition to integrating special sonic features of the chosen performance location, the works also deal with the function and the history of the site. 

Presented every two years by Internationales Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD), the Darmstadt Summer Course is an international platform for contemporary and experimental musical practices and composition: it is summer academy, festival and discourse platform at the same time and a meeting point of composers, interpreters, performers, sound artists and scholars.

LOCATIONS

Start: 17.00 at number 1 on the map (Maja Bosnić)

Georg-BĂĽchner-Platz & Wilhelminenplatz, 64283 Darmstadt

1 – THE Q AND A PIECE

Maja Bosnić: the Q and A piece (2021) World Premiere – 12’
for ensemble, bicycle, two cars and a participating audience in a public space

Alberto Cavallaro (Alto Saxophone), Alejandro Fenollosa Beltrán (Baritone Saxophone), Kathrine Kirkeng Oseid (Baritone Saxophone), Timothée de la Morinerie (Percussion: Bicycle), Mikołaj Rytowski (Percussion: Car), Tomek Szczepaniak (Percussion: Auto / Percussion: Car), Darja Goldberg (Accordion), Aleksandar Popović (Accordion), Carlo Sampaolesi (Accordion)

the Q and A piece is based around common situations, sounds and reactions that belong to everyday city life, and are created ad hoc by a group of semi-random citizens – in this case: musicians and audience. The audience is joining musicians in creating sounds, using their voice, hands and feet, on their own, by following easy video instructions on their devices. Questions that are being asked create a directed murmur of random words and numbers, spoken all at once. Sound materials in the work fluctuate between completely unified and synchronized gestures on one hand, as well as completely independent, random and scattered sounds at other times. It is a showcase of all possible different ways of interpretation and understanding of a single simple action by everyone involved. Showing that no two humans react or think identically, it celebrates beautiful varieties of life surrounded by differences that cities truly nurture.

Feel free to come closer and move around during the performance!

Maja Bosnić

Please scan this QR code before beginning to follow your instructions:

QR code – the Q & A piece

BIOGRAPHY

Maja Bosnić is a composer from Belgrade/Serbia who is interested in working in unfamiliar settings. She is drawn to impossible missions, absurd solutions, limited material, playfulness, uncertain outcomes, treating instruments as ready-made objects of expression and treating real life objects as music instruments.

2 – EAR CRUMBS

Elizabeth Jigalin: ear crumbs (2021) World Premiere – 12’
open air music for saxophone, accordion and percussion

Marta Tiesenga (Saxophone), Manca Dornik (Accordion), Gian Marco Medda (Percussion)

dear treasured listeners,
ear crumbs is a simmering soup of 378 postcard sized scores of notations, observations, actions and translations. each score is an intimate invitation for music in the open air. throughout the summer course, i have been
creating and iterating a subset of these scores in dialogue with the musicians to develop today’s performance for you:

part one: clearing the ear – the musicians are a sculptural listening organism…
part two: playgrounds – the musicians get busy with scores!!!

i write this from my messy, score crumb covered desk in sydney/australia, and i am sad to not be there in darmstadt with you. however, i am grateful to the tutors and musicians for their efforts in allowing me to participate, learn, experience darmstadt virtually and to create this work. 

thank you for your ears!
elizabeth

BIOGRAPHY

Elizabeth Jigalin is a composer who loves to build curious worlds of sound and work with others to collage elements of music, play, theater, media and the everyday.

3 – PAVILION (EXCAVATION)

Samuel Johnstone: Pavilion (Excavation) (2021) World Premiere – 11’
A summer pavilion for Darmstadt, created through sound

Anouk Neyens (Soprano Saxophone), Pantelis Likoudis (Alto Saxophone), Shiau-Shiuan Hung, Chuang Ying-Chen, Santiago Villar Martín (Percussion), Cong Li (Accordion), Daniel Sclafani, Junhao Tong (Performer with Microphone)

Eight musicians become an archeological team on an excavation site, looking for traces of lost structures in the city. Somewhere not far from here, a pavilion used to stand – the Ludwigstempel. Traces of this pavilion still remain beneath the surface. So, too, do the sounds and memories of a city that has remained under construction for the last 70 years.

For a fleeting moment, these lost structures and sonic memories of Darmstadt will be excavated from the ground and translated into resonances in the air.

Samuel Johnstone

BIOGRAPHY

Samuel Johnstone is studying for a Master in Composition at the Hochschule fĂĽr Musik in Dresden. In his works, he is interested in the relationship between sound and the objects, environments and humans that create it.

THE Q AND A PIECE

4 – PULSATING SKIN

Justina Repečkaitė: Pulsating skin (2021) World Premiere – 13’
for four snare drums and live electronics

Corentin Barro, Romane Bouffioux, Pablo Mena, Federico Tramontana (Percussion)

Four snare drums have transducers – small loud-speakers that transmits sound towards the interior of the instrument, attached to their skin. Sound is being sent to drums that act like resonating bodies manipulated by human touch. These harmonies are inspired by the physical models, the resonance of a circular membrane tuned to a snare drum frequency. Performers illuminate the sounds they are hearing (and feeling!) with no score to follow. The pulses that guide musicians are created from a superposition of slightly different frequencies as the sound alternately interfere constructively and destructively thus creating pulsation (beats). Snare drums radiate mechanical pulses characteristic to the city combined with allusions to the nature still present in urban surroundings.

Justina RepeÄŤkaitÄ—

BIOGRAPHY

Justina Repečkaitė is a Lithuanian composer based in Paris where she studied at IRCAM (Institute of Research and Coordination in Acoustics/Music). Her music is compared to a “diamond” and “drawn with the sharpest pencil”.

Print page
© ️OpenStreetMap contributors
© ️Elizabeth Jigalin
© ️Elizabeth Jigalin
© ️Kristof Lemp
© ️Kristof Lemp
© ️OpenStreetMap contributors
© ️Elizabeth Jigalin
© ️Elizabeth Jigalin
© ️Kristof Lemp
© ️Kristof Lemp
© ️Kristof Lemp

de en

10.08.2021 MUSIC IN THE CITY
Präsentation des Workshops mit Cathy Milliken und David Helbich (Komposition), Christian Dierstein und Françoise Rivalland (Schlagzeug), Krassimir Sterev (Akkordeon), Marcus Weiss (Saxofon)

MUSIC IN THE CITY

Der Titel verrät es: Nicht der Konzertsaal, nicht die Bühne, sondern die Stadt mit ihren öffentlichen Räumen ist der Ort des musikalischen Geschehens. Das Projekt bestimmt einen Teil des öffentlichen Raums als Klangraum, greift Charaktere und Gestaltungsmerkmale urbaner Räume musikalisch auf und verbindet Urbanität und experimentelle Musik, um öffentliche Räume mitzugestalten. Das Konzert MUSIC IN THE CITY ist das Ergebnis eines Call for Composers für Open-Air-Werke, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Schlagzeuger*innen, Saxofonist*innen und Akkordeonist*innen entwickelt wurden. Komponist*innen und Musiker*innen arbeiteten zusammen, um Partituren und Konzepte für Open-Air-Musik zu realisieren. Neben der Einbeziehung klanglicher Besonderheiten des gewählten Aufführungsortes setzen sich die Kompositionen auch mit der Funktion und der Geschichte des jeweiligen Ortes auseinander.

Veranstaltet alle zwei Jahre vom Internationalen Musikinstitut Darmstadt (IMD), sind die Darmstädter Ferienkurse eine internationale Plattform für zeitgenössische und experimentelle Musikformen und Komposition: Sie sind Sommerakademie, Festival und Diskursplattform in einem und ein Treffpunkt von Komponist*innen, Interpret*innen, Performer*innen, Klangkünstler*innen und Forscher*innen.

ORTE

Beginn: 17:00 Uhr bei Markierung 1 (Maja Bosnić)

Georg-Büchner-Platz & Wilhelminenplatz, 64283 Darmstadt

1 – THE Q AND A PIECE

Maja Bosnić: the Q and A piece (2021) Uraufführung – 12’
für Ensemble, Fahrrad, zwei Autos und ein teilnehmendes Publikum im öffentlichen Raum

Alberto Cavallaro (Altsaxofon), Alejandro Fenollosa Beltrán (Baritonsaxofon), Kathrine Kirkeng Oseid (Baritonsaxofon), Timothée de la Morinerie (Percussion: Fahrrad), Mikołaj Rytowski (Percussion: Auto), Tomek Szczepaniak (Percussion: Auto), Darja Goldberg (Akkordeon), Aleksandar Popović (Akkordeon), Carlo Sampaolesi (Akkordeon)

the Q and A piece basiert auf alltäglichen Situationen, Klängen und Reaktionen, die zum Stadtleben dazugehören und ad hoc von einer Gruppe vorbeikommender Passant*innen – in diesem Fall: Musiker*innen und Publikum – gemeinsam erzeugt werden. Das Publikum schließt sich den Musiker*innen an, indem es mit seiner Stimme, seinen Händen und Füßen selbst Klänge erzeugt und dabei per Smartphone den einfachen Videoanweisungen folgt. Die gestellten Fragen erzeugen ein gezieltes Gemurmel aus zufälligen Wörtern und Zahlen, die alle gleichzeitig gesprochen werden. Das Klangmaterial schwankt zwischen einheitlichen und synchronisierten Gesten einerseits und unabhängigen, zufälligen und verstreuten Klängen andererseits. Es handelt sich um ein Schaufenster aller möglichen unterschiedlichen Arten der Interpretation und des Verständnisses einer einzigen einfachen Handlung aller Beteiligten. the Q and A piece zeigt, dass keine zwei Menschen identisch reagieren oder denken, und feiert die wunderbare Vielfalt des Lebens inmitten von Unterschieden, die Städte wahrhaftig nähren.

Während der Performance könnt ihr/können Sie gerne näherkommen und euch/sich frei bewegen!

Maja Bosnić (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

Vor Beginn scannen Sie bitte diesen QR-Code, um den Anweisungen zu folgen:

QR code – the Q & A piece

BIOGRAFIE

Maja Bosnić ist eine Komponistin aus Belgrad/Serbien, die an der Arbeit in ungewohnten Umgebungen interessiert ist. Sie brennt für unmögliche Aufgaben, absurde Lösungen, begrenztes Material, Verspieltheit, ungewisse Ergebnisse, die Behandlung von Instrumenten als vorgefertigte Ausdrucksobjekte und die Behandlung von Gegenständen des realen Lebens als Musikinstrumente.

2 – EAR CRUMBS

Elizabeth Jigalin: ear crumbs (2021) Uraufführung – 12’
Open-Air-Musik für Saxofon, Akkordeon und Percussion

Marta Tiesenga (Saxofon), Manca Dornik (Akkordeon), Gian Marco Medda (Percussion)

liebe geschätzte hörerinnen und hörer,
ear crumbs ist eine köchelnde suppe aus 378 postkarten-großen partituren mit notationen, beobachtungen, aktionen und übersetzungen. jede partitur ist eine persönliche einladung zur musik im freien. während der darmstädter ferienkurse habe ich einen teil dieser partituren im dialog mit den musiker*innen erstellt und überarbeitet, um die heutige aufführung für sie zu entwickeln:

teil eins: das ohr freimachen – die musiker*innen sind ein skulpturaler hörorganismusteil zwei: spielplätze – die musiker*innen beschäftigen sich mit partituren!!!

ich schreibe dies von meinem unordentlichen, mit partiturkrümeln bedeckten schreibtisch in sydney/australien und bin traurig, nicht mit euch/mit ihnen in darmstadt sein zu können. aber ich bin den dozent*innen und musiker*innen dankbar für ihre bemühungen, die es mir ermöglichten, teilzunehmen, zu lernen, darmstadt virtuell zu erleben und dieses Werk zu schaffen. 

danke für euer/für ihr gehör!
elizabeth

Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige

BIOGRAFIE

Elizabeth Jigalin ist eine Komponistin, die es liebt, kuriose Klangwelten zu erschaffen und mit anderen zusammenzuarbeiten, um Elemente aus Musik, Schauspiel, Theater, Medien und dem Alltag zusammenzusetzen.

3 – PAVILION (EXCAVATION)

Samuel Johnstone: Pavilion (Excavation) (2021) Uraufführung – 11’
Ein klanglicher Sommerpavillon für Darmstadt

Anouk Neyens (Sopransaxofon), Pantelis Likoudis (Altsaxofon), Shiau-Shiuan Hung, Chuang Ying-Chen, Santiago Villar Martín (Percussion), Cong Li (Akkordeon),  Daniel Sclafani, Junhao Tong (Performer mit Mikrofon)

Acht Musiker*innen werden zu einem Archäologenteam, das auf einer Ausgrabungsstätte nach Spuren verlorener Strukturen der Stadt sucht. Irgendwo, unweit von hier, stand einst ein Pavillon – der Ludwigstempel. Die Spuren dieses Pavillons befinden sich noch immer unter der Oberfläche; ebenso wie die Geräusche und Erinnerungen an eine Stadt, die in den letzten 70 Jahren eine Baustelle geblieben ist.

 Für einen flüchtigen Moment werden diese verlorenen Strukturen und klanglichen Erinnerungen an Darmstadt aus dem Boden ausgegraben und in der Luft in Resonanzen übertragen.

Samuel Johnstone (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

BIOGRAFIE

Samuel Johnstone absolviert ein Masterstudium in Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik in Dresden. In seinen Werken interessiert er sich für die Beziehung zwischen Klang und den Objekten, Umgebungen und Menschen, die ihn erzeugen.

THE Q AND A PIECE

4 – PULSATING SKIN

Justina Repečkaitė: Pulsating skin (2021) Uraufführung – 13’
für vier Snare Drums und Live-Elektronik

Corentin Barro, Romane Bouffioux, Pablo Mena, Federico Tramontana (Percussion)

Vier Snare Drums sind mit Transducern ausgestattet – kleinen Lautsprechern, die den Klang in das Innere der Instrumente übertragen und an deren Fell befestigt sind. Der Klang wird unmittelbar an die Trommeln gesendet, die wie Resonanzkörper wirken und durch menschliche Berührung manipuliert werden. Diese Harmonien sind von sogenannten physikalischen Modellen inspiriert, von der Resonanz einer kreisförmigen Membran, deren Frequenz derjenigen einer kleinen Trommel entspricht. Die Interpret*innen illuminieren die Klänge, die sie hören (und fühlen!), ohne einer Partitur zu folgen. Die Impulse, die die Musiker*innen leiten, entstehen aus einer Überlagerung leicht unterschiedlicher Frequenzen, da der Klang sich abwechselnd in konstruktiver und destruktiver Form präsentiert und auf diese Weise Pulsationen (Beats) erzeugt. Snare Drums senden mechanische Impulse aus, die für die Stadt charakteristisch sind, kombiniert mit Naturanspielungen, die in der städtischen Umgebung immer noch vorhanden sind.

Justina Repečkaitė (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

BIOGRAFIE

Justina Repečkaitė ist eine litauische Komponistin, die in Paris lebt, wo sie am IRCAM (Forschunginstitut für Akustik/Musik) studierte. Ihre Musik wird mit einem „Diamanten“ und „einer scharfen Bleistiftzeichnung“ verglichen.

Seite drucken
© ️OpenStreetMap contributors
© ️Elizabeth Jigalin
© ️Elizabeth Jigalin
© ️Kristof Lemp
© ️Kristof Lemp
© ️OpenStreetMap contributors
© ️Elizabeth Jigalin
© ️Elizabeth Jigalin
© ️Kristof Lemp
© ️Kristof Lemp
© ️Kristof Lemp