de en

06.08.2021 THREE
New commissions of the three Kranichstein Prize Winners Sara Glojnarić, Martin A. Hirsti-Kvam and Oliver Thurley for Ensemble Adapter from Berlin

Supported by the Pro Musica Viva – Maria Strecker-Daelen Foundation

OLIVER THURLEY ABOUT AUGURY

How would you describe augury in one or two sentences?

Oliver Thurley: Fragile sounds, staged on a millimeter scale.

What kind of augury is hidden behind the composition title?

OT: The 16th century sorcerer John Dee’s attempts to summon angels.

You wrote the piece as a commission for Ensemble Adapter. Did you work out different sound possibilities together with the musicians in advance? What were particular challenges?

OT: augury is built outwards from a short solo I wrote for Gunnhildur Einarsdóttir’s Harp Studio at the Darmstadt Summer Course 2018. Other parts extend outwards, with the harp’s gestures and sounds creeping into other instruments.

Many sounds started as questions or ideas for the ensemble, others started as rudimentary tests I made that the ensemble solved and developed. I also wrote two study pieces that gave Adapter a chance to explore and get certain kinds of sounds and actions under the skin a bit. These gave a clearer indication of certain kinds of techniques or textures, and let us be more open in some parts of the score to augury, freeing up space to explore and better interpret the outcomes.

ENSEMBLE ADAPTER ABOUT THEMSELVES

SARA GLOJNARIĆ: THIS CHAMPAGNE IS BURNED

This Champagne Is Burned is a video piece, which explores the notion of translation as extended authorship (Edwin Gentzler, 2016), its discrepancies, its paradoxical nature as well as its potential of being a politically subversive gesture.

It examines dubbing as a form of appropriation and neutralization of the original content, be it visual or auditive, juxtaposing and re-contextualizing material from the domain of pop-culture using techniques and processes found in audio-visual translation, such as vague musical descriptions in closed captions, semantic misrepresentations, kinetic subtitles and interviews as a form of cross-cultural translation.

Sara Glojnarić

MARTIN A. HIRSTI-KVAM: THROUGH IMAGINARY LANDSCAPES

“Landscape is a natural scene mediated by culture. It is both a represented and presented space, both a signifier and a signified, both a frame and what a frame contains, both a real place and its simulacrum.”

W. J. T. Mitchell

In 1939 John Cage composed the first of his Imaginary Landscapes (for cymbal, prepared piano and two record players) transforming a playback device into a musical instrument by manipulating test tone records.

In this series of works Cage continues to incorporate technology alongside traditional percussion instruments, experimenting with radios and object amplification as well as incorporating other music through the use of mashed-up records.

At the same time, this series of Landscapes highlights a shift in Cage’s compositional focus: from concentrating on what’s inside the frame to creating frameworks from which the music can arise – a shift culminating in Imaginary Landscape No. 5 from 1952, where he leaves the frame entirely open for other music to be placed, written only a few months before the framed ‘silence’ of 4’33’’.

My work continues to explore these concepts of landscape and technology, sampling and remixing both sounds and ideas from Cage’s Imaginary Landscapes using today’s technology alongside record players and FM radios.

In the center of this exploration we find the listener soloist. Functioning as an avatar with binaural headphones in her ears we follow her footsteps through real, virtual, historical and imaginary landscapes.

Martin A. Hirsti-Kvam

Print page
© ️Kristof Lemp

de en

06.08.2021 THREE
Auftragsarbeiten der drei Kranichsteiner Musikpreisträger*innen Sara Glojnarić, Martin A. Hirsti-Kvam und Oliver Thurley für das Berliner Ensemble Adapter

Gefördert durch die Pro Musica Viva – Maria Strecker-Daelen-Stiftung

OLIVER THURLEY ÜBER AUGURY

Wie würdest du augury in ein oder zwei Sätzen beschreiben?

Oliver Thurley: Fragile Klänge, in einem Millimeter-Maßstab inszeniert.

Welche Art von Vorhersage verbirgt sich hinter dem Kompositionstitel?

OT: Die Versuche des Zauberers John Dee (16. Jahrhundert), Engel zu beschwören.

Du hast das Stück als Auftragswerk für das Ensemble Adapter geschrieben. Hast du im Vorfeld gemeinsam mit den Musiker*innen verschiedene Klangmöglichkeiten ausgearbeitet? Was waren besondere Herausforderungen?

OT: augury ist aus einem kurzen Solo entstanden, das ich für Gunnhildur Einarsdóttirs Harfenstudio bei den Darmstädter Ferienkursen 2018 geschrieben habe. Andere Teile kamen von außen hinzu, wobei sich Gesten und Klänge der Harfe in andere Instrumente einschlichen.

Viele Klänge begannen als Fragen oder Ideen für das Ensemble, andere begannen als von mir erzeugte rudimentäre Tests, die das Ensemble bestand und weiterentwickelte. Ich habe auch zwei Studien geschrieben, die Adapter die Möglichkeit gaben, bestimmte Arten von Klängen und Aktionen intensiver zu erforschen. Diese gaben einen klareren Hinweis auf bestimmte Techniken oder Texturen; darüber hinaus ließen sie uns in einigen Teilen der Partitur offener agieren, was uns Raum für die Erforschung und die bessere Interpretation der Ergebnisse gab.

Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige

ENSEMBLE ADAPTER ABOUT THEMSELVES

SARA GLOJNARIĆ: THIS CHAMPAGNE IS BURNED

This Champagne Is Burned ist eine Videoarbeit, die den Begriff der Übersetzung als erweiterte Autorenschaft (Edwin Gentzler, 2016), ihre Diskrepanzen, ihre paradoxe Natur sowie ihr Potenzial als politisch subversive Geste untersucht.

Sie erforscht die Synchronisation als eine Form der Aneignung und Neutralisierung des ursprünglichen Inhalts, sei er visuell oder auditiv, indem sie Material aus dem Bereich der Popmusik nebeneinanderstellt und neu kontextualisiert. Dabei werden Techniken und Verfahren der audiovisuellen Übersetzung verwendet, beispielsweise vage Musikbeschreibungen in Untertiteln, semantische Fehldarstellungen, ,kinetische Untertitel‘ und Interviews als eine Form der interkulturellen Übersetzung.

Sara Glojnarić (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

MARTIN A. HIRSTI-KVAM: THROUGH IMAGINARY LANDSCAPES

„Die Landschaft ist eine durch die Kultur vermittelte natürliche Szenerie. Sie ist sowohl ein repräsentierter als auch ein präsentierter Raum, sowohl ein Signifikant als auch ein Signifikat, sowohl ein Rahmen als auch das, was ein Rahmen enthält, sowohl ein realer Ort als auch sein Simulacrum.“

W. J. T. Mitchell

1939 komponierte John Cage die erste seiner Imaginary Landscapes (für Becken, präpariertes Klavier und zwei Plattenspieler) und verwandelte damit ein Abspielgerät in ein Musikinstrument, indem er Testtonschallplatten manipulierte.

In dieser Werkreihe setzt Cage neben den traditionellen Schlaginstrumenten auch Technik ein, experimentiert mit Radios und der Verstärkung von Objekten und bezieht andere Musik durch die Verwendung von Mashups ein.

Gleichzeitig verdeutlicht diese Reihe von Landscapes eine Verschiebung in Cages kompositorischem Fokus: von der Konzentration auf das, was sich innerhalb des Rahmens befindet, hin zur Schaffung eines Rahmens, aus dem die Musik heraus entstehen kann – eine Verlagerung, die in Imaginary Landscape No. 5 aus dem Jahr 1952 gipfelt, das nur wenige Monate vor der gerahmten ,Stille‘ von 4’33’’ geschrieben wurde. Hier lässt Cage den Rahmen vollständig offen, damit andere Musik darin platziert werden kann.

In meiner Arbeit untersuche ich weiterhin solche Konzepte von Landschaft und Technologie, indem ich sowohl Klänge als auch Ideen aus Cages Imaginary Landscapes sample und remixe und dabei neben Plattenspielern und UKW-Radios auch heutige Technik verwende.

Im Zentrum dieser Erkundung steht die Hörerin als Solistin. Als Avatar mit binauralen Kopfhörern in den Ohren folgen wir ihren Schritten durch reale, virtuelle, historische und imaginäre Landschaften.

Martin A. Hirsti-Kvam (Übersetzung: Gerardo Scheige)

Seite drucken
© ️Kristof Lemp