de en

SCORE EVENT
With Jennifer Walshe
LIVE AUF ZOOM

Tue 03 August 2021, 16.00
Online

Registration

In English

Machine Learning, Language & Sound: The Text Score Dataset 1.0

Project launch with Jennifer Walshe, Ragnar Árni Ólafsson, David DeRoure (University of Oxford), Joel Stern and James Parker (Liquid Architecture)

Since 2017 Jennifer Walshe has been engaged in a quixotic enterprise, the creation of a massive – one might say definitive – dataset of text scores. Walshe’s Text Score Dataset 1.0 now comprises over 3.000 text scores, running to almost half a million words, ranging from Fluxus event scores to compositions written in the last year. Many of these scores were painstakingly transcribed by Ragnar Árni Ólafsson, who over the last four years has come to know this territory in a way very few other people on the planet do.

Jennifer Walshe created the Text Score Dataset 1.0 in order to be able to use it as training material for Machine Learning algorithms, so that new generations of text scores could be created. Commissioned by PRiSM Centre at the Royal Northern College of Music, over the last months she and Ólafsson have been working with David DeRoure of the University of Oxford’s Department of Engineering Science on the first generation of outputs.

The talk will feature a presentation of scores from the project, with the launch of a booklet of scores free for anyone to download and perform. Walshe, Ólafsson and DeRoure will be joined by Joel Stern and James Parker, the founders of Liquid Architecture’s Machine Listening project, for a discussion about Machine Learning’s involvement in the arts.

Print page

de en

– Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden –

SCORE EVENT
Mit Jennifer Walshe
LIVE AUF ZOOM

Di 03. August 2021, 16:00
Online

Take part:
https://zoom.us/j/91605239033
Meeting-ID: 916 0523 9033

In englischer Sprache

Machine Learning, Language & Sound: The Text Score Dataset 1.0

Projektvorstellung mit Jennifer Walshe, Ragnar Árni Ólafsson, David DeRoure (University of Oxford), sowie Joel Stern und James Parker (Liquid Architecture)

Seit 2017 beschäftigt sich Jennifer Walshe mit einem Don Quichotte-artigen Unterfangen: der Erstellung eines riesigen – man könnte sagen: definitiven – Datensatzes von Textpartituren. Walshes Text Score Dataset 1.0 umfasst mittlerweile über 3.000 Text-Scores mit fast einer halben Million Wörtern, von Fluxus-Event-Scores bis hin zu Kompositionen, die im letzten Jahr geschrieben wurden. Viele dieser Partituren wurden von Ragnar Árni Ólafsson akribisch transkribiert, der dieses Gebiet in den vergangenen vier Jahren kennengelernt hat, wie nur wenige andere Menschen auf der Welt.

Jennifer Walshe hat das Text Score Dataset 1.0 erstellt, um es als Trainingsmaterial für Machine-Learning-Algorithmen verwenden zu können, um neue Generationen von Text Scores erstellen zu können. Im Auftrag des PRiSM Center am Royal Northern College of Music arbeiteten sie und Ólafsson in den letzten Monaten mit David DeRoure vom Department of Engineering Science der University of Oxford an der ersten Generation von Outputs.

In der Veranstaltung werden Partituren aus dem Projekt präsentiert, wobei auch ein Booklet mit Partituren veröffentlicht wird, das jede*r Interessent*in kostenlos herunterladen und aufführen kann. Walshe, Ólafsson und DeRoure werden gemeinsam mit Joel Stern und James Parker, den Gründern des Machine Listening-Projekts von Liquid Architecture, über das Engagement von Machine Learning in der Kunst diskutieren.

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes

Seite drucken