de en

Local Music

New Artist's Colony

Workshop Sarah Saviet & Arne Gieshoff

Intensive one-week workshop

Tutors: Sarah Saviet (Violin/Performance), Arne Gieshoff (Composition/Elektronics)

Where: LEW1/Kultur einer Digitalstadt e.V. (Ludwig-Engel-Weg 1)

When: 6 – 13 August 2023

Who: Open to participants of the Darmstadt Summer Course (interpreters and composers)

How to sign up: Interested participants of the Darmstadt Summer Course should send an e-mail to localmusic@darmstaedter-ferienkurse.de by ⏰ 30 April 2023. Please write us a few sentences about yourself and your musical practice. There will likely be 12 places in the workshop and we would like to have a ratio of composers to performers of 4:8. If there are more applicants than spots available, we will let you know shortly after 30 April whether you have been selected.

Local Music: New Artist’s Colony invites composers, performers and creators to work alongside violinist Sarah Saviet and composer Arne Gieshoff in order to create site-specific works for the iconic spaces that are the studio and gardens of the Neue Künstlerkolonie, the Park Rosenhöhe and the meadows of the Oberfeld. The workshop is directed towards participants who have an interest in creating for and interacting with alternative spatial/performance settings as well as those who wish to deepen their artistic practice through cooperative and improvisatory methods of working. These practical sessions will serve to create sonic situations devised for and interacting with specific local spatial conditions. All participants will act as both performers and creators developing site-specific installative works for acoustic and electronic sounds culminating in a public performance. The participants will work together to create open and engaging sonic experiences through open and collaborative processes as well as with pre-existing, composed and found material. Throughout the process open labs will facilitate exchange between tutors and participants of other studios as well as members of the public. The workshop will have its headquarters at the beautiful studio-garden LEW1 of Kultur einer Digitalstadt e.V. which will become a place of creation and gathering throughout the week. Performers and composers may bring pre-existing repertoire and material but should be prepared to take those as a point of departure for further explorations.

Loudspeakers and some audio equipment will be available. However, participants should bring their own laptops, instruments and, if possible, an audio interface as well as any other (portable) gear they might want to work with.

While LEW1 is well connected to public transport, in order to travel swiftly and comfortably between the studio, the main campus of the Ferienkurse at Lichtenbergschule as well as the various concert venues the hire of a bike is highly recommended.

Provisional Schedule

[The studio space will also be available for coachings, group and individual work outside of these time slots.]

Sun, 6.8. after Welcome Session @Lichtenbergschule
Meeting and joint travel to Neue Künstlerkolonie
then: SESSION 1_EXPLORATION OF SPACES

Mon, 7.8. @LEW1
10.00-13.00 SESSION 2

Tue, 8.8. @LEW1
10.00-13.00 SESSION 3

Wed, 9.8. @Lichtenbergschule
PM: SESSION 4_OPEN SPACE PRESENTATION

Thur, 10.8. @LEW1
10.00-13.00 SESSION 5

Fr, 11.8. @LEW1
14.00-18.00 SESSION 6_OPEN LAB
from 18.00 Drinks & Social

Sat, 11.8. @LEW1
as required: SESSION 7_CONCERT-PREP

Sun, 13.8. @LEW1/Rosenhöhe
AM: as required

14.00-17.00 SESSION 8_PERFORMANCE

17.00-18.00 PERFORMANCE: SAVIET & GIESHOFF [tbc]

© ️IMD-Archiv/Kristof Lemp 2018

de en

Local Music

New Artist's Colony

Workshop Sarah Saviet & Arne Gieshoff

Einwöchiger Intensiv-Workshop

Dozent:innen: Sarah Saviet (Violine/Performance), Arne Gieshoff (Komposition/Elektronik)

Wo: LEW1/Kultur einer Digitalstadt e.V. (Ludwig-Engel-Weg 1)

Wann: 6. – 13. August 2023

Wer: Offen für Teilnehmer:innen der Darmstädter Ferienkurse (Interpret:innen und Komponist:innen)

Einschreibung: Interessierte Teilnehmer:innen der Darmstädter Ferienkurse senden bitte bis zum ⏰ 30. April 2023 eine E-Mail an localmusic@darmstaedter-ferienkurse.de. In der E-Mail erzählt Ihr uns bitte in wenigen Sätzen etwas über Euch und Eure Interessensschwerpunkte. Es gibt voraussichtlich 12 Plätze für den Workshop und wir wünschen uns ein Verhältnis von Komponist:innen zu Performer:innen von 4:8. Falls es mehr Interessent:innen als Plätze gibt, werden wir auswählen und geben Euch so bald wie möglich nach dem 30. April Bescheid, ob Ihr dabei seid.

Local Music: New Artist’s Colony lädt Komponist:innen und Performer:innen ein, zusammen mit der Geigerin Sarah Saviet und dem Komponisten Arne Gieshoff ortsspezifische Klangsituation für die ikonischen Orte Neue Künstlerkolonie und den Park Rosenhöhe und Oberfeld zu schaffen. Der Workshop ist an Teilnehmer:innen der Ferienkurse gerichtet, die neugierig sind, für und mit alternativen räumlichen und performativen Ausgangssituationen zu arbeiten und ihre künstlerische Praxis um kooperative und improvisatorische Methoden zu erweitern. Die praxisorientierten Sessions dienen dazu, Werke für diese ganz bestimmten Orte und räumlichen Gegebenheiten zu kreieren und mit diesen spielerisch zu interagieren. Alle Teilnehmer:innen agieren gleichsam als „Performer“ und „Creator“ und entwickeln installative Arbeiten für akustische und elektronische Klänge. Sie werden durch improvisatorische und kollaborative Prozesse sowie mit existierendem, komponiertem sowie „gefundenem“ Material offene Klangereignisse schaffen, welche in einer öffentlichen Aufführung präsentiert werden. „Open Labs“ ermöglichen immer wieder den Austausch mit anderen Studios sowie der Darmstädter Öffentlichkeit. Der Workshop wird im wunderschönen Studio mit Garten des LEW1 / Kultur einer Digitalstadt e.V. zu Hause sein, das ein Ort der Zusammenkunft und der kreativen Arbeit während der Workshopwoche sein wird. Perfomer:innen und Komponist:innen können bereits existierendes Repertoire oder Material mitbringen, sollten dieses aber während der Ferienkurse vor Ort weiterentwickeln.

Lautsprecher und Audioequipment werden vorhanden sein. Teilnehmer:innen sollten allerdings ihr eigenes Laptop, Instrumente und, falls vorhanden, Audiointerface sowie weiteres (portables) Equipment mitbringen, mit dem sie arbeiten wollen.

Obgleich das LEW1 gut mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln zu erreichen ist, ist das Mieten eines Fahrrads wärmstens empfohlen um schnell und komfortabel zwischen dem Studio, dem Campus der Ferienkurse an der Lichtenbergschule und den verschiedenen Spielstätten hin und her reisen zu können.

Provisional Schedule

[The studio space will also be available for coachings, group and individual work outside of these time slots.]

Sun, 6.8. after Welcome Session @Lichtenbergschule
Meeting and joint travel to Neue Künstlerkolonie
then: SESSION 1_EXPLORATION OF SPACES

Mon, 7.8. @LEW1
10.00-13.00 SESSION 2

Tue, 8.8. @LEW1
10.00-13.00 SESSION 3

Wed, 9.8. @Lichtenbergschule
PM: SESSION 4_OPEN SPACE PRESENTATION

Thur, 10.8. @LEW1
10.00-13.00 SESSION 5

Fr, 11.8. @LEW1
14.00-18.00 SESSION 6_OPEN LAB
from 18.00 Drinks & Social

Sat, 12.8. @LEW1
as required: SESSION 7_CONCERT-PREP

Sun, 13.8. @LEW1/Rosenhöhe
AM: as required

14.00-17.00 SESSION 8_PERFORMANCE

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch den Darmstädter Förderkreis Kultur e. V.
With the kind support of the Darmstädter Förderkreis Kultur e. V.

© ️IMD-Archiv/Kristof Lemp 2018