de en

Chaya Czernowin
Visiting Composer

Born in 1957 in Israel. After her studies in Israel, at the age of 25, she continued studying in Germany (DAAD grant), the US, and then was invited to live in Tokyo (Asahi Shimbun Fellowship and American NEA grant), again in Germany (fellowship of Akademie Schloss Solitude) and in Vienna. Her music has been performed throughout the world, by some of the best orchestras and performers of new music. She has held a professorship at UCSD, was the first woman to be appointed as a composition professor at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, Austria (2006–2009), and at Harvard University, USA (2009 and on) where she has been the Walter Bigelow Rosen Professor of Music.
Czernowin’s output includes chamber and orchestral music, with and without electronics, as well as four large scale works for the stage: Pnima…ins Innere (2000, Münchener Biennale), Zaïde / Adama (2006, Salzburger Festspiele), Infinite Now (2017, Opera Vlaanderen in Gent), Heart Chamber (2019, Deutsche Oper Berlin).

Prizes include the Kranichsteiner Musikpreis (1992) of the Darmstädter Ferienkurse, a composer’s prize of Siemens Foundation (2003) and of the Rockefeller Foundation (2004), a nomination as a fellow to Wissenschaftkolleg Berlin (2008), the Fromm Foundation Award (2009), a Guggenheim Foundation fellowship (2011) and the Heidelberger Künstlerinnenpreis (2016). Czernowin was chosen as a member of the Akademie der Künste in Berlin in 2017.

Her music is published by Schott Music and recorded on Mode records NY, Wergo, Col Legno, Deutsche Gramophone, Kairos, Neos, Ethos, Telos and Einstein Records. She lives near Boston with composer Steven Kazuo Takasugi.

Website

Print page
© ️Astrid Ackermann

de en

Chaya Czernowin
Dozentin Komposition

Geboren 1957 in Israel. Nach ihrem Studium in Israel setzte sie ihre Ausbildung mit 25 in Deutschland mit einem DAAD-Stipendium sowie in den USA fort. Es folgten Einladungen nach Tokyo (Asahi Shimbun Fellowship und American NEA grant), nochmals Deutschland (Stipendium der Akademie Schloss Solitude) und nach Wien. Ihre Musik wurde weltweit von einigen der besten Orchestern und Performer*innen der Neuen Musik aufgeführt. Sie war Professorin an der University of California, die erste weibliche Kompositions-Professorin an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien (2006-2009) und an der Harvard University (seit 2009), wo sie die Walter Bigelow Rosen-Professur für Musik innehält.

Zu Czernowin’s Werk zählen Kammer- und Orchestermusik, mit und ohne Elektronik, sowie vier große Stücke für die Bühne: Pnima… Ins Innere (Münchener Biennale, 2000), Zaïde / Adama (Salzburger Festspiele, 2006), Infinite Now (Opera Vlaanderen in Gent, 2017) und Heart Chamber (Deutsche Oper Berlin, 2019).

Sie erhielt u.a. den Kranichsteiner Musikpreis der Darmstädter Ferienkurse (1992), einen Komponist*innen-Preis der Siemens Stiftung (2003) und der Rockefeller Foundation (2004), eine Nominierung als Fellow am Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin (2008), den Fromm Foundation Award (2009), ein Stipendium der Guggenheim Foundation (2011) und den Heidelberger Künstlerinnenpreis (2016). 2017 wurde Czernowin als Mitglied der Akademie der Künste Berlin ausgewählt.

Website Chaya Czernowin

Seite drucken
© ️Irina Rozowsky