de en

Claire Chase
Flute Tutor

Claire Chase is a musician, interdisciplinary artist and educator. Described by The New York Times as “the most important flutist of our time” and praised by The Wall Street Journal for her “rare combination of grace and guts”, Chase has given the world premieres of hundreds of new works by a new generation of artists on five continents. She has championed new music by building organizations, founding commissioning initiatives and creating educational programs that reach new audiences internationally. Chase co-founded the International Contemporary Ensemble in 2001 and served as its artistic director until 2016. The Ensemble has been recognized with Musical America’s Ensemble of the Year award and five ASCAP/Chamber Music America Awards for Adventurous Programming, and has been described by The New Yorker as “the United States’ foremost new music ensemble”.

Chase was named a MacArthur Fellow in 2012. In 2017, she was the first flutist to be awarded the Avery Fisher Prize from Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts. In 2013, Chase launched Density 2036, a 24-year commissioning initiative to create an entirely new body of work for solo flute leading up to the centennial of Edgard Varese’s seminal 1936 flute solo Density 21.5. In the 2022/23 season, Chase will play the first ten years of the Density 2036 repertory – encompassing ten programs and twelve hours of music created by a range of emerging and established artists. Other current projects include a collaboration with the vocalist and bassist Esperanza Spalding on a new duo concerto by Felipe Lara to be performed by the Helsinki and Los Angeles Philharmonics, conducted by Susanna Mälkki, and the European premiere of Liza Lim’s evening-length contrabass flute solo Sex Magic at SouthBank Centre in London. This season, Chase is also working with a transnational team of artists, anthropologists, scientists and climate activists on The Witness, a project inspired by the Deep Listening practices of Chase’s mentor, the late Pauline Oliveros. Chase is a Collaborative Partner with Esa-Pekka Salonen and the San Francisco Symphony, and will appear multiple times with the orchestra this season.

A deeply committed educator, Chase is Professor of the Practice of Music at Harvard University, where she teaches courses on contemporary music, cultural production and collaboration across disciplines. She is also a Creative Associate at The Juilliard School in New York City.

Print page
© ️Karen Chester

de en

Claire Chase
Dozentin Flöte

Claire Chase ist Musikerin, interdisziplinäre Künstlerin und Pädagogin. Von der New York Times als „die wichtigste Flötistin unserer Zeit“ bezeichnet und vom Wall Street Journal für ihre „seltene Kombination aus Anmut und Mut“ gelobt, hat Chase Hunderte neuer Werke einer neuen Generation von Künstler*innen auf fünf Kontinenten uraufgeführt. Sie setzte sich für Neue Musik ein, indem sie Organisationen aufbaute, Auftragsinitiativen gründete und Bildungsprogramme ins Leben rief, die international ein neues Publikum erreichen. Chase war 2001 Mitbegründerin des International Contemporary Ensemble und war bis 2016 dessen künstlerische Leiterin. Das Ensemble wurde mit dem Musical America’s Ensemble of the Year Award und fünf ASCAP/Chamber Music America Awards for Adventurous Programming ausgezeichnet. Darüber hinaus wurde es vom New Yorker als „das führende Ensemble für neue Musik in den Vereinigten Staaten“ bezeichnet.

Im Jahr 2012 wurde Chase zum MacArthur Fellow ernannt. Im Jahr 2017 war sie die erste Flötistin, die mit dem Avery Fisher Prize des Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts ausgezeichnet wurde. 2013 rief Chase Density 2036 ins Leben, eine auf 24 Jahre angelegte Auftragsinitiative zur Schaffung eines völlig neuen Œuvres für Soloflöte im Vorfeld des hundertjährigen Jubiläums von Edgard Vareses bahnbrechendem Flötensolo Density 21.5 aus dem Jahr 1936. In der Saison 2022/23 wird Chase die ersten zehn Jahre des Repertoires von Density 2036 spielen – mit zehn Programmen und zwölf Stunden Musik, die von einer Reihe von aufstrebenden und etablierten Künstler*innen geschaffen wurden. Zu den weiteren aktuellen Projekten gehören die Zusammenarbeit mit der Sängerin und Bassistin Esperanza Spalding bei einem neuen Duo-Konzert von Felipe Lara, das von den Helsinki und Los Angeles Philharmonics unter der Leitung von Susanna Mälkki aufgeführt wird, sowie die europäische Erstaufführung von Liza Lims abendfüllendem Kontrabass-Solo Sex Magic im SouthBank Centre in London. In dieser Saison arbeitet Chase außerdem mit einem transnationalen Team von Künstler*innen, Anthropolog*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Klimaaktivist*innen an The Witness, einem Projekt, das von der Deep Listening-Praxis von Chases Mentorin, der bereits verstorbenen Pauline Oliveros, inspiriert ist. Chase ist Kooperationspartner von Esa-Pekka Salonen und dem San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, mit dem er in dieser Saison mehrfach auftreten wird.

Als engagierte Pädagogin ist Chase Professorin für Musikpraxis an der Harvard University, wo sie Kurse über zeitgenössische Musik, kulturelle Produktion und interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit gibt. Außerdem ist sie Creative Associate an der Juilliard School in New York City.

Seite drucken
© ️Karen Chester