de en

David Helbich
Tutor Composition & Performance

Born in 1973 in Berlin. He studied composition and philosophy in Amsterdam and in Freiburg/Germany. Since 2002 he lives and works in Brussels. He created various experimental works of sound, image and performance on stage, on page, online and in public space. His trajectory moves between representative and interactive works, pieces and interventions, between conceptual work and actions. Many of his prints and performances address concrete physical and social experiences. A recurrent interest is the understanding of an audience as active individuals and the search for an opening up of artistically restricted spaces.
His works have been recently presented among others at Martin-Gropius-Bau (Berlin), Palais de Tokyo (Paris), Oude Kerk (Amsterdam), Cafe OTO (London), Kantine am Berghain (Berlin) and Queens Museum (New York City). At the Meakusma Festival (Eupen/BE) he has had a permanent presence since 2016. In 2011 he won the “ad libitum” composition prize in Stuttgart. In Belgium he published the bestsellers “Belgian solutions vol1 &2” with 300 photos each, which were included in the collection of the 200 most important photo books in Belgium. In 2013 his album “Outcuts” was released on the label Surface Noise.

For the Darmstadt Summer Course he currently develops a project around “notation and art books” and, together with Jennifer Walshe, he will be responsible for the 2014 established workshop Composer–Performer.

Print page

de en

David Helbich
Dozent Komposition & Performance

Geboren 1973 in Berlin. Er studierte Komposition und Philosophie in Amsterdam und Freiburg. Seit 2002 arbeitet und lebt er in Brüssel. Er kreierte experimentelle Klang-, Performance- und Bild-Werke für die Bühne, Print- und Online- Medien und den öffentlichen Raum. Sein Schaffen bewegt sich zwischen repräsentativen und interaktiven Arbeiten, werkhaften Stücken und Interventionen, zwischen konzeptuellen Werken und Aktionen. Viele seiner Druckarbeiten und Performances thematisieren konkrete körperliche und soziale Erfahrungen. Hierbei wird versucht, das Publikum als aktive Individuen zu begreifen sowie nach einer Erweiterung künstlerisch begrenzter Räume gesucht.
Seine Arbeiten wurden kürzlich unter anderem im Martin-Gropius-Bau (Berlin), im Palais de Tokyo (Paris), in der Oude Kerk (Amsterdam), im Cafe OTO (London), Kantine am Berghain (Berlin) und im Queens Museum (New York City) präsentiert. Auf dem Meakusma Festival (Eupen/BE) hat er eine ständige Präsenz seit 2016. 2011 gewann er den “ad libitum” Kompositionspreis in Stuttgart. In Belgien publizierte er die Bestseller “Belgian solutions vol1 &2” mit jeweils 300 Fotos, die in die Sammlung der 200 wichtigsten Fotobücher in Belgien aufgenommen wurde. 2013 kam sein Album “Outcuts” bei dem label Surface Noise heraus.

Für die diesjährigen Ferienkurse entwickelt er zurzeit einen Schwerpunkt „Notation und Kunstbuch“, bei denen er außerdem – wie seit 2014 – zusammen mit Jennifer Walshe einen Workshop für Composer–Performer leiten wird.

Seite drucken