de en

Erika Bell
Composer

Erika Bell is a Los Angeles-based musician. Their work explores visceral textures through both traditional and experimental sound-making practices. Having quickly developed a distinctive style and approach to composition, Bell has found a niche in the experimental music underground.

Recently, they have expanded their approach, embracing songlike structures and creative processes that might be more familiar to a rock band than a traditional composer. The latter style can be heard on their debut full-length Precept (2020) while the former is heard on long-form ensemble works such as Moving Like Icebergs Against Each Other and Sucking Stones. Their work retains a signature sound as a through line, generally revolving around dissonant harmonies, cyclical loops, drone and a sculptural approach to sound.

Bell has had works performed in Sweden, UK, New York City and in Los Angeles (the Walt Disney Hall), Zebulon, The Dog Star Festival, the wulf., Human Resources and more. Bell also performs with their own eponymous ensemble and other occasional projects. Erika holds a BFA in music composition from California Institute of the Arts where they studied with Michael Pisaro and Laura Steenberge.

Website Erika Bell

 

Print page
© ️Erika Bell

de en

Erika Bell
Komponistin

Erika Bell ist eine in Los Angeles lebende Musikerin. Ihre Arbeit erforscht tiefgehende Texturen durch traditionelle und experimentelle Praktiken der Klangerzeugung. Bell haben schnell einen unverwechselbaren Kompositionsstil und -ansatz entwickelt und eine Nische in der experimentellen Musikszene gefunden.

In jüngster Zeit haben sie ihre Herangehensweise erweitert, indem sie sich songähnliche Strukturen und kreative Prozesse angeeignet haben, die eher einer Rockband als traditionellen Komponist*innen vertraut sein dürften. Letzterer Stil ist auf ihrem Debütalbum Precept (2020) zu hören, während ersterer auf langen Ensemblewerken wie Moving Like Icebergs Against Each Other und Sucking Stones zu hören ist. Ihre Arbeit behält einen charakteristischen Klang – gewissermaßen als roten Faden – bei, der sich im Allgemeinen um dissonante Harmonien, zyklische Schleifen, Drones und einen skulpturalen Klangansatz kreist.

Bells Werke wurden in Schweden, Großbritannien, New York City und in Los Angeles (in der Walt Disney Hall), im Zebulon, beim Dog Star Festival, im wulf., bei Human Resources und anderen Festivals aufgeführt. Bell tritt auch mit ihrem eigenen gleichnamigen Ensemble und anderen gelegentlichen Projekten auf. Erika hat einen BFA-Abschluss in Komposition vom California Institute of the Arts, wo sie bei Michael Pisaro und Laura Steenberge studierte.

Website Erika Bell

Seite drucken
© ️Erika Bell