de en

Felipe Lara
Composer

Born in 1979 in São Paulo/Brazil. Praised by the New York Times as “a gifted Brazilian-American modernist” whose works are “brilliantly realized”, “technically formidable, wildly varied”, and possess “voluptuous, elemental lyricism”, Felipe Lara’s work – which includes orchestral, chamber, vocal, film, electroacoustic and popular music – engages in producing new musical contexts by means of (re-)interpreting and translating acoustical and extra-musical properties of familiar source sonorities into project-specific forces. He often aspires to create self-similar relationships between the macro- and micro-articulation of the musical experience and highlights the interdependence of acoustic music composition and technology, including the application of electroacoustic paradigms as catalysts for both entire structures and local textures.

His music has been recently commissioned by leading soloists, ensembles and institutions such as the Arditti Quartet (with SWR Experimentalstudio Freiburg), Brentano Quartet (with Hsin-Yung Huang), Claire Chase, Conrad Tao, Donaueschinger Musiktage, Duo Diorama, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble Modern, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, International Contemporary Ensemble, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Ogni Suono, Rebekah Heller and São Paulo Symphony Orchestra (Osesp), and also performed by the Amazonas Philharmonic, Asasello Quartet, ensemble recherche, David Fulmer, Ex Novo Ensemble, Ilan Volkov, JACK Quartet, Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, Mivos Quartet, Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic Hilversum, Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Peter Eötvös, Steven Schick and the Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra.

The recipient of a 2015 Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Fellowship, from Harvard University, he has been awarded an invitational fellowship from the Civitella Ranieri Foundation (2014), Composition Prize from Funarte (Brazilian Ministry of Culture, 2014), Master Artist Award from the National Association of Latino Arts and Culture (2013), Kanter/Mivos String Quartet Prize (2011), Staubach Prize from IMD (Darmstadt, 2008), Dal Niente International Call-for- Scores, First Prize in Orchestra Composition from the Biennial for Brazilian Contemporary Music (2005), as well as commissions from the Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University (2011) and the Koussevitzky Music Foundation at Library of Congress (2016). He was also a finalist for the 2014 Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative (Geneva).

He holds a PhD in Music Composition from New York University (Graduate Scholl of Arts and Science) where he was a Henry M. MacCracken Fellow, a Masters from Tufts University and a Bachelors degree from Berklee College of Music. His main teachers were Louis Karchin, Tristan Murail, Mario Davidovsky, John McDonald, Vuk Kulenovic and Alla Elana Cohen.

Having previously taught at New York University’s Faculty of Arts and Science, he has been Visiting Lecturer at Federal University of Bahia (Salvador/Brazil), Visiting Faculty, Lecturer on Music, at Harvard’s Department of Music (2016/19), where he was awarded a Harvard Excellence in Teaching Award (2017). Lara is currently Assistant Professor at Johns Hopkins University’s Peabody Institute.

Website Felipe Lara

Print page
© ️Hugo Glendinning

de en

Felipe Lara
Komponist

Geboren 1979 in São Paulo/Brasilien. Von der New York Times als „begnadeter brasilianisch-amerikanischer Modernist“ gepriesen, dessen Werke „brillant realisiert“, „technisch formidabel, wild variiert“ und von „sinnlicher, elementarer Lyrik“ sind, beschäftigt sich Felipe Lara in seinem Werk – das Orchester-, Kammer-, Vokal-, Film-, elektroakustische und populäre Musik umfasst – mit der Herstellung neuer musikalischer Kontexte durch (Neu-)Interpretation und Übersetzung akustischer und außermusikalischer Eigenschaften vertrauter Quellenklänge in projektspezifische Kräfte. Er strebt oft danach, selbstähnliche Beziehungen zwischen der Makro- und Mikroartikulation der musikalischen Erfahrung zu schaffen und betont die Interdependenz von akustischer Musikkomposition und Technologie, einschließlich der Anwendung elektroakustischer Paradigmen als Katalysatoren für ganze Strukturen wie lokale Texturen.

Seine Musik wurde kürzlich von führenden Solist*innen, Ensembles und Institutionen in Auftrag gegeben, darunter das Arditti Quartet (mit dem SWR Experimentalstudio Freiburg), das Brentano Quartett (mit Hsin-Yung Huang), Claire Chase, Conrad Tao, die Donaueschinger Musiktage, Duo Diorama, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ensemble Modern, Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, International Contemporary Ensemble, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Ogni Suono, Rebekah Heller und dem São Paulo Symphony Orchestra (Osesp), sowie von der Amazonas Philharmonie, dem Asasello Quartett, dem ensemble recherche, David Fulmer, dem Ex Novo Ensemble, Ilan Volkov, dem JACK Quartet, dem Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin, dem Mivos Quartett, der Niederländischen Radio Kammerphilharmonie Hilversum, dem Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Peter Eötvös, Steven Schick und dem Tanglewood Music Center Orchestra.

2015 erhielt er ein Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study Fellowship der Harvard University und wurde mit einem Einladungsstipendium der Civitella Ranieri Foundation (2014), dem Kompositionspreis von Funarte (brasilianisches Kulturministerium, 2014) und dem Master Artist Award der National Association of Latino Arts and Culture (2013) ausgezeichnet, sowie dem Kanter/Mivos String Quartet Prize (2011), dem Staubach-Preis des IMD (Darmstadt, 2008), dem Dal Niente International Call-for-Scores, dem Ersten Preis für Orchesterkomposition der Biennale für zeitgenössische brasilianische Musik (2005) sowie Aufträge der Fromm Music Foundation der Harvard University (2011) und der Koussevitzky Music Foundation der Library of Congress (2016). Er war außerdem Finalist für die Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative 2014 (Genf).

Er hat einen Doktortitel in Musikkomposition von der New York University (Graduate Scholl of Arts and Science), wo er ein Henry M. MacCracken Fellow war, einen Master von der Tufts University und einen Bachelorabschluss vom Berklee College of Music. Seine wichtigsten Lehrer*innen waren Louis Karchin, Tristan Murail, Mario Davidovsky, John McDonald, Vuk Kulenovic und Alla Elana Cohen.

Er hat bereits an der Fakultät für Kunst und Wissenschaft der New York University unterrichtet, war Gastdozent an der Bundesuniversität von Bahia (Salvador/Brasilien) und Gastdozent für Musik am Harvard Department of Music (2016–19), wo er mit dem Harvard Excellence in Teaching Award (2017) ausgezeichnet wurde. Derzeit ist Lara Assistant Professor am Peabody Institute der Johns Hopkins University.

Website Felipe Lara

Seite drucken
© ️Hugo Glendinning