de en

Hilda Paredes
Composer

Firmly established as a leading Mexican composer of her generation, Hilda Paredes has been based in London for over 35 years. Her music has been commissioned, premiered and performed by many prestigious ensembles, orchestras and soloists including Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Recherche, Arditti Quartet, ICE, Collegium Novum Zurich, Contrechamps, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Hilliard Ensemble, Ensemble Signal, Ensemble Sospeso, Grup Instrumental de Valencia, London Sinfonietta, Neue Vocalsolisten, Plural Ensemble, MDi Ensemble, RTE, OFUNAM, Filarmónica de la Ciudad de México, amongst others. Venues and festivals that have featured her music include Wigmore Hall, Edinburgh Festival, Festival D’Automne a Paris, Wien Modern, Akiyoshidai and Takefu Music Festivals, Warsaw Autumn and Ultima. The versatility of her work is evident in her catalogue that includes wide-ranging electroacoustic elements, with works created at IRCAM, CIRM and SWR Experimentalstudio.

Paredes has been honoured with a number of international accolades, including the PRS for Music Foundation, J.S. Guggenheim Fellowship, Rockefeller, Fund for Culture Mexico/USA, and the Fellowship from Sistema Nacional de Creadores in Mexico, and most recently the prestigious Ivors Composer Award for her celebrated chamber opera, Harriet, Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman.

While there is a testimony of collaboration with Mexican/Maya poets and artists in her works, she also draws inspiration from many different composers and cultures from over the world. Her music is acclaimed for the refinement of her craft, marked by the intensity of the relationship between time, dramatic force and poetic approach.

Website Hilda Paredes

Print page
© ️Graciela Iturbide

de en

Hilda Paredes
Komponistin

Fest etabliert als eine der führenden mexikanischen Komponistinnen ihrer Generation lebt Hilda Paredes seit über 35 Jahren in London. Ihre Musik wurde von vielen renommierten Ensembles, Orchestern und Solist*innen in Auftrag gegeben, uraufgeführt und gespielt, darunter das Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Recherche, Arditti Quartet, ICE, Collegium Novum Zürich, Contrechamps, Ensemble intercontemporain, Hilliard Ensemble, Ensemble Signal, Ensemble Sospeso, Grup Instrumental de Valencia, London Sinfonietta, Neue Vocalsolisten, Plural Ensemble, MDi Ensemble, RTE, OFUNAM und die Filarmónica de la Ciudad de México. Auf Festivals und an Spielstätten wie der Wigmore Hall, Edinburgh Festival, Festival D’Automne a Paris, Wien Modern, Akiyoshidai und Takefu Festivals, Warschauer Herbst und Ultima erklangen ihre Werke. Deren Vielfalt spiegelt sich in einem Verzeichnis wieder, das auch ein breites Spektrum elektroakustischer Elemente umfasst, wie in den Stücken, die am IRCAM, CIRM oder dem SWR Experimentalstudio entstanden sind.

Paredes wurde mit zahlreichen internationalen Auszeichnungen geehrt, darunter das J.S. Guggenheim Fellowship, PRS for Music Foundation, Rockefeller, Fund for Culture Mexico/USA und das Stipendium des Sistema Nacional de Creadores in Mexico, sowie jüngst der prestigeträchtige Ivors Composer Award für ihre gefeierte Oper Harriet, Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman.

Ihre Werke zeugen von Kollaborationen mit mexikanischen und Maya-Poet*innen, während sie zugleich Inspiration bei vielen unterschiedlichen Komponist*innen und Kulturen aus der ganzen Welt zieht. Ihre Musik wird für ihre Raffinesse hoch angesehen, die von der Intensität der Beziehungen zwischen Zeit, dramatischer Kraft und einem poetischen Ansatz gekennzeichnet ist.

Website Hilda Paredes

Seite drucken
© ️Graciela Iturbide