de en

Katharina Pelosi (Swoosh Lieu)
Sound Artist

WHO AM I IN A GROUP?


Katharina Pelosi studied at the Institute for Applied Theatre Studies in Giessen and works as an audio artist in the fields of performance, choreography, radio plays and installations. She is a co founder of the feminist performance and media art collective Swoosh Lieu. As a theater musician and sound designer, she regularly collaborates with theater maker Simone Dede Ayivi. Further projects have been developed e.g. with costa compagnie, Antje Velsinger, the Geheimagentur and Moritz Frischkorn.

She has created soundwalks, radio plays and installations, such as the site-specific audio installation Bilder aus Morgen, the multi channel audio installation In the vicinity at the CCA Tel Aviv and most recently the project Polyphone Parolen for PACT Zollverein as part of Urban Künste Ruhr 2019. Based on this installation, she created the radio play Parole V for WDR. Her artistic feature Call to Listen was awarded the Leipzig Radio Play Summer Prize in 2019.

From 2015 until 2017, Katharina dealt with sound as a mnemonic-cultural medium in postcolonial Hamburg for her artistic doctorate as a member of the graduate program Performing Citizenship (K3, Fundustheater, HCU – Hamburg). In 2018, she spent time in Kyoto as a fellow at the Villa Kamogawa (Goethe-Institut Japan) together with Rosa Wernecke. In 2020, she traveled to the Cultural Academy Tarabya in Istanbul, following a residency at the Casa Baldi (Italy) in 2021.

Her sound design work is characterized by an understanding of music and sound as equal elements of the theatrical process. In many productions, Katharina performs live on stage. Her acoustic work explores sound-based forms of memory and the transformation of visual phenomena into the acoustic medium. In doing so, she tries to develop formal aesthetic approaches based on feminist and postcolonial discourse.

Print page
© ️Daniela Müller-Brunke

de en

Katharina Pelosi (Swoosh Lieu)
Klangkünstlerin

WER BIN ICH IN EINER GRUPPE?


Katharina Pelosi studierte am Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaften in Gießen und arbeitet als Audiokünstlerin im Bereich Performance, Choreographie, Hörspiel und Installation. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des feministischen Performance- und Medienkunstkollektivs Swoosh Lieu. Als Theatermusikerin und Sounddesignerin verbindet sie eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit mit der Theatermacherin Simone Dede Ayivi, weitere Projekte entstanden unter anderem mit der costa compagnie, Antje Velsinger, der Geheimagentur und Moritz Frischkorn.

Sie hat Soundwalks, Hörstücke und Installationen realisiert, so die ortsspezifische Audioinstallation Bilder aus Morgen, die mehrkanalige Audioinstallation In the vicinity am CCA Tel Aviv und zuletzt das Projekt Polyphone Parolen für PACT Zollverein im Rahmen von Urbane Künste Ruhr 2019. Basierend auf der Installation entstand für den WDR das Hörspiel Parole V. Ihr künstlerisches Feature Call to Listen wurde 2019 mit dem Preis des Leipziger Hörspielsommers ausgezeichnet.

2015 – 2017 war Katharina mit ihrem künstlerischen Promotionsprojekt zu Sound als erinnerungskulturellem Medium im postkolonialen Hamburg Mitglied im Graduiertenkolleg Performing Citizenship. 2018 war sie gemeinsam mit Rosa Wernecke Stipendiatin an der Villa Kamogawa (Goethe Institut Japan), 2020 war sie Stipendiatin in der Kulturakademie Tarabya in Istanbul und 2021 an der Casa Baldi (Italien).

Ihre tongestalterische Arbeit zeichnet sich durch ein Verständnis von Musik und Sound als gleichberechtigtem Mittel im theatralen Prozess aus, in vielen Produktionen performt Katharina live auf der Bühne. In ihrer akustischen Arbeit beschäftigt sie sich mit soundbasierten Formen des Erinnerns sowie der Transformation visueller Phänomene in das akustische Medium. Dabei versucht sie formal-ästhetische Ansätze zu entwickeln, die auf feministischen und postkolonialen Diskursen beruhen.

Seite drucken
© ️Daniela Müller-Brunke