de en

Natacha Diels
Composer / Performer

WHO AM I IN A GROUP?

Natacha Diels’ work combines choreographed movement, video animation, instrumental practice, and cynical play to create worlds of curiosity and unease. Recent work includes Papillon and the Dancing Cranes for construction cranes and giant butterfly (Borealis Festival 2018); and forthcoming is a 6-part TV-style miniseries with the JACK Quartet (TIME:SPANS and Banff Centre for the Arts) and a collaborative work with Ensemble Pamplemousse (Darmstadt 2021). With a focus on collage, collaboration, and the ritual of life as art, Natacha’s compositions have been described as “a fairy tale for a fractured world” (Music We Care About) and “the liveliest music of the evening” (LA Review of Books).

Natacha is a founding member of the composer/performer collective Ensemble Pamplemousse (est. 2003). Pamplemousse specializes in unique aspects of new music composition, from complex virtuosic instrumental performance to experimental theatre to electronic and robotic performance.

Notable commissions include those from the Borealis Festival for Papillon and the Dancing Cranes; the Fromm Foundation for an upcoming work for Talea Ensemble (2022); Darmstadt Summer Course (2021); TIME:SPANS Festival for Episode 2 of Beautiful Trouble, for JACK Quartet (2020–21); the Los Angeles Philharmonic for the Green Umbrella Series (Laughing to Forget, 2018); and Deustchlandfunk Kultur in Berlin for Ensemble Adapter (Sad Music for Lonely People, 2019). Other major activities include a repeat performance of Papillon and the Dancing Cranes (Nadar Ensemble 2021), a release by Ensemble Pamplemousse of works with the percussion trio Line Upon Line (2021), and being chosen as artist-in-residence for Harvestworks in partnership with MATA festival (summer 2019). Natacha‘s work has been performed globally by Ensemble Adapter, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Nadar Ensemble, hand werk, Decoder Ensemble, TAK Ensemble, Quatuor Impact, JACK Quartet; and soloists Jay Campbell, Laura Cocks, Samuel Favre, Ross Karre, Rane Moore, and Charlotte Mundy, among others. She has also created several short films and music videos which have been screened in Denmark, NYC, Chicago, and Budapest.

Natacha holds degrees in performance, digital media, and composition from New York University and Columbia University. She is currently an Assistant Professor of composition and computer music at the University of Pennsylvania/Philadelphia.

Website Natacha Diels

Print page
© ️Alfonso Salgueiro Photography

de en

Natacha Diels
Komponistin / Performerin

WHO AM I IN A GROUP?

Natacha Diels‘ Arbeit kombiniert choreografierte Bewegung, Videoanimation, instrumentale Praxis und zynisches Spiel, um Welten der Neugierde und des Unbehagens zu erschaffen. Zu ihren jüngsten Arbeiten gehören Papillon and the Dancing Cranes für Baukräne und Riesenschmetterlinge (Borealis Festival 2018); in Kürze wird eine sechsteilige TV-ähnliche Miniserie mit dem JACK Quartet (TIME:SPANS und Banff Centre for the Arts) und eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ensemble Pamplemousse (Darmstadt 2021) folgen. Mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Collage, Zusammenarbeit und dem Ritual des Lebens als Kunst wurden Natachas Kompositionen als „ein Märchen für eine zerbrochene Welt“ (Music We Care About) und „die lebendigste Musik des Abends“ (LA Review of Books) beschrieben.

Natacha ist Gründungsmitglied des Composer/Performer-Kollektivs Ensemble Pamplemousse (gegründet 2003). Pamplemousse hat sich auf einzigartige Aspekte der Komposition Neuer Musik spezialisiert, von komplexer virtuoser Instrumentalperformance über experimentelles Theater bis hin zu elektronischer und roboterhafter Performance.

Zu den bemerkenswerten Aufträgen gehören die des Borealis Festivals für Papillon and the Dancing Cranes, der Fromm Foundation für ein kommendes Werk für das Talea Ensemble (2022), der Darmstädter Ferienkurse (2021), des TIME:SPANS Festivals für Episode 2 von Beautiful Trouble, für das JACK Quartet (2020–21), des Los Angeles Philharmonic für die Green Umbrella Series (Laughing to Forget, 2018) und des Deustchlandfunk Kultur in Berlin für das Ensemble Adapter (Sad Music for Lonely People, 2019). Weitere wichtige Aktivitäten sind eine Wiederaufführung von Papillon and the Dancing Cranes (Nadar Ensemble 2021), eine Veröffentlichung von Werken mit dem Percussion-Trio Line Upon Line durch das Ensemble Pamplemousse (2021) und die Wahl als Artist-in-Residence für Harvestworks in Partnerschaft mit dem MATA Festival (Sommer 2019). Natachas Werke wurden weltweit u.a. von Ensemble Adapter, Ensemble Intercontemporain, Nadar Ensemble, hand werk, Decoder Ensemble, TAK Ensemble, Quatuor Impact, JACK Quartet sowie den Solist*innen Jay Campbell, Laura Cocks, Samuel Favre, Ross Karre, Rane Moore und Charlotte Mundy aufgeführt. Sie hat auch mehrere Kurzfilme und Musikvideos geschaffen, die in Dänemark, NYC, Chicago und Budapest gezeigt wurden.

Natacha hat Abschlüsse in Performance, digitalen Medien und Komposition von der New York University und der Columbia University. Derzeit ist sie Assistenzprofessorin für Komposition und Computermusik an der University of Pennsylvania/Philadelphia.

Website Natacha Diels

Seite drucken
© ️Alfonso Salgueiro Photography