de en

Riot Ensemble
Ensemble

Riot Ensemble connects people to great contemporary music in concerts and events that are just as innovative, vibrant and rewarding as the music itself. The members of Riot are some of the top European soloists in new music, and with Riot they work as performers, curators, commissioners, and collaborators, creating and producing a diverse array of projects.

Based in London, Riot is particularly active in bringing emerging international voices to the British new-music scene and since 2012 has given over 200 World and UK premieres by composers from more than thirty countries. Their annual call for scores received 436 submissions in 2020, and in the past 6 years has resulted in almost twenty commissions. Additionally, they enjoy close working relationships with some of the most important composers of our time, including Clara Iannotta, Chaya Czernowin, Ann Cleare, and Georg Friedrich Haas whose evening length piece Solstices was commissioned by Riot in 2019.

In 2020 the ensemble was awarded the prestigious Ernst von Siemens Ensemble Prize.
Riot recently made their Wigmore Hall debut. In 2020, the ensemble began a new partnership with King’s Place where they present their ReNEW series, focusing on bringing the most cutting edge international new music to London.

Their recent release on Huddersfield Contemporary Records, Speak Be Silent, was named one of the ten most important recordings of the year by Alex Ross in the New Yorker, and has been praised as ‘one of the best recordings of 2019’ by Sequenza 21 and ‘a most impressive release’ by Australia’s Limelight magazine. They have also recently released a disc featuring Jonathan Harvey’s Song Offerings, recorded at Deutschlandfunk in Köln and are currently working on a new release of Patricia Alessandrini’s chamber music for HCR.

Their work has been generously supported by Opus 2 International and Arts Council England lottery grants, alongside numerous private sponsors, PRSF, Diaphonique, the Ambache Charitable Trust, the RVW Trust, and the Holst Foundation.

Website Riot Ensemble

Print page
© ️Justyna Skwierawska

de en

Riot Ensemble
Ensemble

Das Riot Ensemble verbindet Menschen mit großartiger zeitgenössischer Musik in ebenso innovativen und dynamischen Konzerten. Die Riot-Mitglieder zählen zu den europäischen Top-Solist*innen der Neuen Musik und arbeiten mit Riot als Performer*innen, Kurator*innen, Auftraggeber*innen und Kollaborateur*innen zusammen, was in einer großen Vielfalt an Projekten mündet.

Riot hat seinen Sitz in London und führt insbesondere aufstrebende internationale Stimmen in die britische Neue Musik-Szene ein. Seit 2012 realisierte das Ensemble über 200 UK- und Weltpremieren von Komponist*innen aus über dreißig Ländern. 2020 gingen 436 Einreichungen für Riots jährlichen Call for Scores ein, woraus in den letzten sechs Jahren knapp 20 Aufträge resultierten. Zudem unterhält das Ensemble enge Arbeitsbeziehungen mit einigen der wichtigsten Komponist*innen unserer Zeit, darunter Clara Iannotta, Chaya Czernowin, Ann Cleare und Georg Friedrich Haas, dessen abendfüllendes Stück Solstices Riot 2019 in Auftrag gab.

2020 erhielt Riot den prestigeträchtigen Ernst von Siemens-Ensemblepreis. Jüngst debütierte das Ensemble in der Wigmore Hall. 2020 begann Riot eine neue Partnerschaft mit dem King’s Place, um dort in seiner ReNEW-Serie die innovativste internationale Neue Musik in London zu etablieren. Alex Ross vom New Yorker zählte Speak Be Silent, Riots aktuelle Veröffentlichung auf Huddersfield Contemporary Records, zu den zehn wichtigsten Aufnahmen des Jahres. Auch Sequenza 21 („eine der besten Aufnahmen 2019“) und das australische Limelight-Magazin („eine höchst eindrucksvolle Veröffentlichung“) stimmten in das Lob ein. Vor kurzem erschien eine CD mit Jonathan Harveys Song Offerings, aufgenommen beim Deutschlandfunk, eine Veröffentlichung mit Patricia Alessandrinis Kammermusik bei HCR wird folgen.

Zu Riots Förderern gehören Opus 2 International, Arts Council England lottery grants, PRSF, Diaphonique, Ambache Charitable Trust, RVW Trust, Holst Foundation sowie zahlreiche private Sponsor*innen.

Website Riot Ensemble

Seite drucken
© ️Justyna Skwierawska