de en

The Riot Ensemble plays music by Chaya Czernowin, Clara Iannotta and Georg Friedrich Haas

Sun 08 August 2021, 22.00

Chaya Czernowin: Fast Darkness I: I can see your turned eyes from inside your body (2020) for bass clarinet solo and ensemble – 32’
Clara Iannotta: They left us grief-trees wailing at the wall (2020) – 17’

Georg Friedrich Haas: solstices (2018), German Premiere / Commission of the Darmstadt Summer Course, Riot Ensemble and November Music – 70′ (In Darkness)

Ausias Garrigos Morant (Bass clarinet)
Riot Ensemble
Aaron Holloway-Nahum (Musical Direction)

Charged with energy and brimming with self-confidence, the London-based Riot Ensemble has firmly established their position on the international music scene, going from strength to strength with drive and determination. In 2020, the musicians were awarded one of the first prizes for ensembles by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. Since the group’s formation in 2012, the ensemble can now proudly look back on over 200 world premieres in major festivals and concert halls across Europe and the UK. Under the direction of Aaron Holloway-Nahum, Riot Ensemble are making their first guest appearance at the Darmstadt Summer Course this year and have selected commissioned works by composers with whom they have a close working relationship for their program.

The piece solstices by Georg Friedrich Haas originated as a joint commission by the Darmstadt Summer Course, the Riot Ensemble and the Dutch Festival November Music. The composition presents great demands on the senses of both audience and performers, who play the 70-minute work from memory in complete darkness: a special form of virtuosity. We encounter dark and mysterious spheres in the first half of the concert as well. In the music of Clara Iannotta and Chaya Czernowin moments of destabilization and insecurity are exploited to great effect: imagine the phenomenon of thinking that there should be a step somewhere, but your foot cannot find it?

Print page
© ️Justyna Skwierawska