de en

Kranichstein Music Prize

Since 1952, the Kranichstein Music Prize (Kranichsteiner Musikpreis) has been awarded during the Darmstadt Summer Course. There are 183 laureates so far and for many of them the renowned prize has been an important milestone at the beginning of their career as musician, ensemble or composer.

The total endowment sum of the Kranichstein Music Prize is 6,000 EUR, consisting of 3,000 EUR for the interpretation prize (ensemble or soloist) and 3,000 EUR for composition. These two awards are complemented by a number of scholarships for the participation in the following Darmstadt Summer Course.

The prize is awarded for a work / performance which the jury judges to be outstanding in terms of quality and impact. The jury judges by the following criteria:

Composition: Originality, coherence, willingness to take risks, choice of means in order to archieve the artistic goal, clearness in thought and expression, collaboration with other artists during the Summer Course, intelligence in notation and form as well as a profound knowledge of the used instruments and sound producers.

Interpretation: Creativity, presence on stage, commitment, collaboration with other artists during the Summer Course, adherence to the text, efficent communication with the audience and (in ensembles) other musicians, clearness in the interpretative approach, sound quality, control over the instrument.

Composers, ensembles/musicians who take part in the Darmstadt Summer Course can be taken into account for the prize. Compositions are considered when a live performance of the work takes place in an officially scheduled concert during the Summer Course. (This includes the performance of a tape / electronic piece to an audience in a concert or installation setting.) Interpreters (soloists and ensembles) are judged on live performance during the Summer Course.

The Kranichstein Music Prize winners and the scholarship holders are chosen by an independent jury coming from different fields of New Music. In 2020, the jury will consist of composer Milica Djordjevic, musicologist Michael Kunkel and oboe player Peter Veale.

The Kranichstein Music Prize 2018 for interpretation was awarded to electric guitar player Carlo Siega (*1989 / IT). The prize for composition was divided by the jury (Joanna Bailie, Theresa Beyer, Peter Veale) into three: Sara Glojnari─ç (*1991 / HR), Martin Hirsti-Kvam (*1991 / NO) and Oliver Thurley (*1988 / GB).

Chronology Kranichstein Music Prize as PDF

Print page