de en

Malin Bång
Composition Tutor

Born in 1974 in Sävedalen/Sweden. Malin Bång’s music is an exploration of movement and energy. She defines her musical material according to their amount of friction to create a spectrum of unpredictable and contrasting actions, ranging from the intimate and barely audible to the harsh and obstinate. In her work, she often incorporates acoustic objects to explore a rich sound world and to suggest that a musical content can be shaped by anything valuable to the artistic purpose.

Malin Bång is residing in Stockholm and is Composer-in-Residence and a founding member of the Curious Chamber Players (CCP). Her work includes music for instrumental ensembles, orchestra, electronic music based on field recordings and instrumental performance pieces. Lately she has specifically explored the mixed, amplified instrumental ensemble extended with acoustic objects in collaboration with the members of Curious Chamber Players.

Her works are performed worldwide; recent projects include a new music drama for Theater Mannheim and the Munich Biennale, and the piano concerto inside Mareld for the Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik, performed by the WDR Symphony Orchestra and pianist Rei Nakamura. The portrait concerto how long is now at the Ultraschall Festival 2014 was performed by the Curious Chamber Players, she collaborated with the SWR Symphony Orchestra and Ensemble Nikel for the Donaueschinger Musiktage, Klangforum Wien at the IMPULS Festival, ensemble recherche at the Wittener Tage, Nadar Ensemble at the Darmstadt Summer Course and Faint Noise at the Huddersfield Festival. In 2010 she was awarded the Kranichstein Scholarship Prize and in 2012 she was invited by the DAAD Berlin Artists Program to spend a year in Berlin. Her work splinters of ebullient rebellion has been awarded two prizes: the Orchestra Prize of the Donaueschinger Musiktage in 2018 and the Christ Johnson Music Prize in 2020.

Malin Bång is a regular Visiting Professor at academies in Sweden and abroad, and from the autumn 2018 senior lecturer at the composition department at Göteborg Academy of Music and Drama.

In 2021 Malin Bång will be for the first time part of the Artistic team at Darmstadt Summer Course.

Website Malin Bång

Print page
© ️Annika Falkuggla

de en

Malin Bång
Dozentin Komposition

Geboren 1974 in Sävedalen/Schweden. In ihrer Musik erforscht Malin Bång unterschiedliche Themen mit den Schwerpunkten Körperlichkeit, Bewegung und Energie. Sie definiert ihr musikalisches Material nach dessen Reibungsgrad, um ein Spektrum von unvorhersehbaren und kontrastierenden Aktionen zu schaffen, das vom Intimen und kaum Hörbaren bis hin zum Harschen und Eigensinnigen reicht. In ihre Arbeit bezieht sie oft akustische Objekte ein, um die Klangwelt zu erweitern und darauf hinzuweisen, dass musikalische Inhalte durch alles, was dem künstlerischen Zweck dient, geformt werden können.

Malin Bång lebt in Stockholm und ist Composer in Residence sowie Gründungsmitglied der Curious Chamber Players. Ihre Arbeit umfasst Musik für Instrumentalensembles, Orchester, elektronische Musik basierend auf Feldaufnahmen und instrumentale Performancestücke. In letzter Zeit hat sie sich – in Zusammenarbeit mit Mitgliedern der Curious Chamber Players – insbesondere dem gemischten, verstärkten sowie um akustische Objekte erweiterten Instrumentalensemble gewidmet.

Ihre Werke werden weltweit aufgeführt. Zu den jüngsten Projekten gehören ein neues Musikdrama für das Theater Mannheim und die Münchener Biennale sowie das Klavierkonzert inside Mareld für die Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik, aufgeführt vom WDR Sinfonieorchester und dem Pianisten Rei Nakamura. Das Porträtkonzert how long is now beim Ultraschall Festival 2014 wurde von den Curious Chamber Players aufgeführt, sie arbeitete mit dem SWR Symphonieorchester und dem Ensemble Nikel für die Donaueschinger Musiktage, dem Klangforum Wien beim IMPULS Festival, dem ensemble recherche bei den Wittener Tagen, dem Nadar Ensemble für die Darmstädter Ferienkurse und Faint Noise beim Huddersfield Festival zusammen. 2010 wurde sie mit dem Kranichsteiner Stipendienpreis ausgezeichnet und 2012 wurde sie vom Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD zu einem einjährigen Aufenthalt in Berlin eingeladen. Ihre Arbeit splinters of ebullient rebellion wurde mit zwei Preisen ausgezeichnet: 2018 mit dem Orchesterpreis der Döschinger Tage und 2020 mit dem Christ Johnson Musikpreis.

Malin Bång ist regelmäßige Gastdozentin an Akademien in Schweden und im Ausland. Seit dem Wintersemester 2018 ist sie Senior Lecturer für Komposition an der Göteborg Academy of Music and Drama.

Im Jahr 2021 wird Malin Bång zum ersten Mal Teil des künstlerischen Teams der Darmstädter Ferienkurse sein.

Website Malin Bång

Seite drucken
© ️Annika Falkuggla