de en

Studio Nicolas Hodges

Instrumental studio with selection process
Deadline for applications: 15 April 2018

The piano interpretation studio will be presented as a series of open classes lasting 3-4 hours. Students are expected to attend every class. (Please note that due to time constraints, additional private lessons are not possible.) All pianists accepted onto the course are also expected to take part in the Piano Composition Workshops with Nicolas Hodges and Brian Ferneyhough (details will be announced later).

When planning solo repertoire for the course, students should include at least one work from each of the following categories:

Works by composers attending Darmstadt in 2018. (See list of works below.)
Established works written after 1945 by composers such as Stockhausen, Boulez, Barraqué, Berio, Xenakis, Cage, Feldman, etc.
A work by a younger composer born or residing in your country of birth or residence, which preferably has not yet been performed in Germany.

Works for prepared piano or with electronics can be presented, bearing in mind practical constraints to be discussed in advance. If you intend to present any works involving playing anywhere other than on the keyboard and with the fingers, please inform us of the details in your application.

Please note that works written before 1945 will not be studied in the course. The language of the course will generally be English.

Nicolas Hodges will choose the participants of his studio. Applicants will be notified by the end of April 2018 latest. Online booking for this studio will be opened afterwards to the selected participants.

Piano repertoire by composer-tutors:

Ciciliani, Marko: Rational Cantilenae for Nine Triads for roaring pianist and lighting (2008), Tullius Rooms for piano and electronics (1999/2000), Appenda for piano (1995/96)
Czernowin, Chaya: FardanceCLOSE (2012)
Ferneyhough, Brian: Epigrams, Three Pieces, Lemma-Icon-Epigram, Opus Contra Naturam, Quirl
Hoban, Wieland: when the panting STARTS (2004)
Iddon, Martin: head down among the stems and bells (2009), Karya (2011)
Lewis, George: Endless Shout (1994)
Lim, Liza: The Four Seasons (after Cy Twombly) (2008)
Maierhof, Michael: splitting 16 (2002-03), splitting 28.1 (2005–07), splitting 36.4 (2011) für Flügel, sonic Motoren, schwingende Systeme und Zuspielung
Milliken, Catherine: 9 Looks (2001)
Pagh-Paan, Younghi: I thirst (7′) 2008
Saunders, Rebecca: Mirror, Mirror on the Wall (1994), Crimson (2004-5), Shadow (2013)
Steen-Andersen, Simon: Pretty Sound, Rerendered, Etude No.1
Walshe, Jennifer: becher (2008)

Seite drucken