Georg Katzer: Ballade vom zerbrochenen Klavier

Ballad of the broken piano. Excerpt, recording from 17 June 2020 in the studio for electroacoustic music of the Berlin Academy of the Arts. The recording of Georg Katzer’s Ballad of the broken piano documents a rehearsal for the concert, which was dedicated to the electroacoustic music of Georg Katzer, and which took place on 16 December 2020 at the Berlin Akademie der Künste, as part of the concert series “EM4 | Berliner Studios” with musicians from the JungeMusik ensemble (canceled due to the pandemic).

The voices of the author himself, his son and the pianist tell of the pursuit of material property, childlike play, the thirst for freedom and memories of authoritarian, stuffy piano lessons. The selected section shows the piano as a symbol for tradition (be it musical or social) and its destruction by unstoppable forces of nature (the German birds). The Prussian forest cannot help but embrace the instrument and even the sacred symbol of musical tradition, the piano, is mocked. Even in the bitterest ironic moments, Katzer’s composition never loses its humor, or as it says in the text of the ballad: `Let’s sing, even in dark times’.

 

The studio for electroacoustic music of the Akademie der Künste is a facility for experimental sound art with a long tradition. The studio was founded in 1982 by Georg Katzer (1935–2019), one of the pioneers of new electronic music in the GDR, who was in charge until 1995. The studio of the Akademie der Künste has been a production site and meeting point for artists and master class students since the 1980s and has realized numerous productions, seminars and concerts.

Georg Katzer: Ballade vom zerbrochenen Klavier

Ballade vom zerbrochenen Klavier. Ausschnitt, Aufnahme vom 17. Juni 2020 im Studio für Elektroakustische Musik der Akademie der Künste Berlin. Die Aufnahme von Georg Katzers Ballade vom zerbrochenen Klavier dokumentiert eine Probe für ein Konzert, das der elektroakustischen Musik von Georg Katzer gewidmet war und am 16. Dezember 2020 in der Akademie der Künste, Berlin, im Rahmen der Konzertreihe „EM4 | Berliner Studios“ mit Musiker*innen des Ensembles JungeMusik stattfinden sollte, das aber pandemiebedingt ausgefallen ist.
Die Stimmen des Autors selbst, seines Sohnes und der Pianist*in erzählen vom Streben nach materiellem Eigentum, kindlichem Spiel und Freiheitsdrang und autoritären, stickigen Klavierstunden. Der ausgewählte Ausschnitt zeigt das Klavier als Symbol für Tradition (sei sie musikalisch oder sozial) und dessen Zerstörung und Verschmutzung durch unaufhaltbare Naturgewalt (die deutschen Vögel). Der preußische Wald kann nicht anders, als das Instrument zu umschlingen und sogar das heilige Symbol der musikalischen Tradition, das Klavier, wird verspottet. Auch in den bittersten ironischen Momenten verliert Katzers Komposition nie an Humor, oder wie es im Text der Ballade heißt: ‚lasst uns singen, auch in finsteren Zeiten‘.

 

Das Studio für Elektroakustische Musik der Akademie der Künste ist eine Einrichtung für experimentelle Klangkunst mit langer Tradition. Gegründet wurde das Studio 1982 von Georg Katzer (1935–2019), einem der Pioniere der elektronischen neuen Musik in der DDR, der bis 1995 die Leitung innehatte. Seit der 80er Jahren ist das Studio in der Akademie der Künste Produktionsstätte und Treffpunkt von Künstler*innen und Meisterschüler*innen und realisierte zahlreiche Produktionen, Seminare und Konzerte.