de en

Olga Neuwirth
Composition Tutor

Born in 1968 in Graz/Austria. Olga Neuwirth studied composition at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna and San Francisco Conservatory of Music, she also studied painting and film at San Francisco Art College. Her composition teachers included Adriana Hölszky, Tristan Murail and Luigi Nono. She sprang to international prominence in 1991, at the age of 22, when two of her mini-operas with texts by Nobel Prize-winner in Literature Elfriede Jelinek were performed at the Vienna Festwochen. Since then, her works have been presented worldwide.

Highlights include two portrait concerts at the Salzburg Festival (1998); her multi-media opera Bählamms Fest (1993/98) after Leonora Carrington; Clinamen/Nodus for Pierre Boulez and the London Symphony Orchestra (2000); Composer-in-Residence at the Lucerne Festival in 2002 and in 2016; world premiere of her music-theater work Lost Highway (2003), after David Lynch which won a South Bank Show Award (ENO at the Young Vic, 2008); and two new operas while living in New York City (2010/11) – The Outcast-Homage to Herman Melville and American Lulu, based on Alban Berg’s Lulu. For over 30 years Olga Neuwirth’s works have explored a wide range of forms and genres: operas, radio plays, sound installations, art works, photography and film music. In many works she fuses live-musicians, electronics and video into audio-visual experiences. Among numerous prizes, she was the first-ever woman to receive the Grand Austrian State Prize in the category of music (2010).

Masaot/Clocks without Hands was premiered under Daniel Harding in 2015; the US premiere took place in New York City at Carnegie Hall (co-commissioner), conducted by Valery Gergiev; the Cleveland Orchestra under Franz Welser Möst performed the work in Autumn 2019. The BBC Proms programmed Aello-ballet mecanomorphe in August 2018 for Claire Chase and the Swedish Chamber Orchestra. Most recently her new opera Orlando after Virginia Woolf homonymous novel was premiered at the Vienna State Opera in December 2019, the first woman commissioned in the 150 year history of the house and was named “World Premiere of the Year” by the magazine Opernwelt. A new work for orchestra, countertenor and children‘s chorus Keyframes for a Hippogriff – in memoriam Hester Diamond was commissioned for world premiere by the New York Philharmonic in May 2020, sadly that performance was postponed due to the outbreak of Covid-19. In Autumn 2021, Neuwirth will become professor for composition at the University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna.

Website Olga Neuwirth

Print page
© ️Harald Hoffmann

de en

Olga Neuwirth
Dozentin Komposition

Geboren 1968 in Graz/Österreich. Olga Neuwirth studierte Komposition an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien und am San Francisco Conservatory of Music sowie Malerei und Film am San Francicso Art College. Zu ihren Lehrer*innen zählten Adriana Hölszky, Tristan Murail und Luigi Nono. Im Alter von 22 Jahren erlangte sie international Anerkennung, als 1991 zwei ihrer Mini-Opern mit Texten der Literaturnobelpreisträgerin Elfriede Jelinek bei den Wiener Festwochen aufgeführt wurden. Seitdem werden ihre Werke weltweit präsentiert.

Zu den Highlights zählen zwei Porträtkonzerte der Salzburger Festspiele (1998), ihre Multimedia-Oper Bählamms Fest (1993/98) nach Leonora Carrington; Clinamen/Nodus für Pierre Boulez und das London Symphony Orchestra (2000); ihre Tätigkeit als Composer-in-Residence beim Lucerne Festival 2002 und 2016; die Uraufführung ihres Musiktheaters Lost Highway (2003) nach David Lynch, das mit dem South Bank Show Award (ENO at the Young Vic, 2008) ausgezeichnet wurde, sowie zwei neue, in New York City entstandene Opern (2010/11): The Outcast – Homage to Herman Melville und American Lulu, basierend auf Alban Bergs Lulu. Seit mehr als 30 Jahren hat Olga Neuwirth in ihren Werken eine Vielzahl an Formen und Genres erkundet: Oper, Hörspiel, Klanginstallation, Malerei, Fotografie und Filmmusik. In vielen ihrer Werke verbindet sie Livemusik mit Elektronik und Video zu audiovisuellen Erlebnissen. Als Gewinnerin zahlreicher Preise war sie die erste Frau, die den „Großen Österreichischen Staatspreis“ in der Kategorie Musik erhielt (2010).

Masaot/Clocks without Hands für die Wiener Philharmoniker kam 2015 unter Daniel Harding zur Uraufführung. Die US-Premiere erfolgte in New York City beim Ko-Auftraggeber Carnegie Hall unter der Leitung von Valery Gergiev; das Cleveland Orchestra führte das Werk unter Franz Welser-Möst im Herbst 2019 auf. Die BBC Proms nahmen im August 2018 das für Claire Chase und das Swedish Chamber Orchestra komponierte Aello – ballet mecanomorphe ins Programm auf. Als ersten Kompositionsauftrag an eine Frau in der 150-jährigen Geschichte des Hauses präsentierte die Wiener Staatsoper ihre Oper Orlando nach Virginia Woolfs gleichnamigen Roman im Dezember 2019. Die Premiere wurde durch das Magazin Opernwelt mit dem Titel „World Premiere of the Year“ ausgezeichnet. Keyframes for a Hippogriff – in memoriam Hester Diamond, ein neues Werk für Orchester, Countertenor und Kinderchor, wurde durch das New York Philharmonic in Auftrag gegeben. Die für Mai 2020 geplante Uraufführung musste jedoch wegen des Covid-19-Ausbruchs verschoben werden. Neuwirth wird im Herbst 2021 eine Kompositionsprofessur an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien übernehmen.

Website Olga Neuwirth

Seite drucken
© ️Harald Hoffmann