de en

Alvin Lucier
Composer

Born in 1931 in Nashua/New Hampshire. Alvin Lucier was educated in Nashua Public and Parochial School, the Portsmouth Abbey School, Yale University and Brandeis University, and spent two years in Rome on a Fulbright Scholarship. From 1962 to 1970 he taught at Brandeis, where he conducted the Brandeis University Chamber Chorus, which devoted much of its time to the performance of new music. In 1966, along with Robert Ashley, David Behrman and Gordon Mumma, he co-founded the Sonic Arts Union. From 1968 to 2011, he taught at Wesleyan University where was John Spencer Camp Professor of Music.

Since the mid-1960s, Alvin Lucier has produced a range of important compositions that have influenced the culture of experimental music and the sonic arts. Early works such as Vespers (1968), I am sitting in a room (1969) and Bird and Person Dyning (1975) establish a clear thread throughout his long career; making the inaudible audible, making the audible visible or spatially tangible. Among Lucier’s many innovations is his Music for Solo Performer (1965), the first performative work of art to use brainwave amplification, displacing the sonification of alpha waves through an array of percussive instruments. Lucier premiered Music for Solo Performer with John Cage in 1965 in the Rose Art Museum at Brandeis University.

Lucier continues to lecture and perform extensively in Asia, Europe and the United States, and has collaborated with John Ashbery (Theme) and Robert Wilson (Skin, Meat, Bone). Over the past four years he has made a series of compositions as well as transcriptions of older works for the Ever Present Orchestra, a group dedicated to the performance of his music. These works include Semicircle (2017), Tilted Arc (2018, solo glockenspiel and ensemble), Double Helix (2018, guitar quartet), EPO-5 (2019), Arrigoni Bridge (2020), Hanover (2015), Braid (2012) and Two Circles (2012). Other recent works include Ricochet Lady (2016, solo glockenspiel), Sickle (2017, theremin and ensemble), Silk (2018, amplified spider on silk web), Heartbeats to the Moon and Back (2018, Earth-Moon-Earth communication) and Halo (2019, one or more violins).

Written publications of Lucier’s music and ideas include Chambers (1980), his collected scores between 1965–77, Refections/Reflexionen (1995), a bi-lingual edition of Lucier’s scores, interviews and writings, Music 109: Notes on Experimental Music (2012), Eight Lectures on Experimental Music (2017) and Musik-Konzepte 180/181 (2018), a German collection of essays and analysis. 

Alvin Lucier was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States, received an Honorary Doctorate of Arts from the University of Plymouth/England, and was the 2018 Gala Honoree at ISSUE Project Room for exceptional leadership and commitment to the experimental arts community. In November 2011, Wesleyan University celebrated Alvin Lucier’s retirement with a three-day festival of his works.

Print page
© ️Amanda Lucier

de en

Alvin Lucier
Komponist

Geboren 1931 in Nashua/New Hampshire. Alvin Lucier besuchte die Nashua Public and Parochial School, die Portsmouth Abbey School, die Yale University sowie die Brandeis University und verbrachte mit einem Fulbright-Stipendium zwei Jahre in Rom. Von 1962 bis 1970 lehrte er an der Brandeis University, wo er den Brandeis University Chamber Chorus leitete, der sich vor allem der Aufführung Neuer Musik widmete. 1966 war er zusammen mit Robert Ashley, David Behrman und Gordon Mumma Mitbegründer der Sonic Arts Union. Von 1968 bis 2011 lehrte er an der Wesleyan University, wo er John Spencer Camp Professor of Music war.

Seit Mitte der 1960er Jahre hat Alvin Lucier eine Reihe von wichtigen Kompositionen geschaffen, die die Entwicklung der experimentellen Musik und der Klangkunst maßgeblich beeinflusst haben. Frühe Werke wie Vespers (1968), I am sitting in a room (1969) und Bird and Person Dyning (1975) ziehen sich wie ein roter Faden durch seine lange Karriere: das Unhörbare hörbar machen, das Hörbare sichtbar oder räumlich erfahrbar machen. Zu Luciers vielen Innovationen gehört seine Music for Solo Performer (1965), das erste performative Kunstwerk, das die Verstärkung von Gehirnströmen nutzt und die Sonifikation von Alphawellen durch eine Reihe von perkussiven Instrumenten ersetzt. Lucier hat Music for Solo Performer zusammen mit John Cage 1965 im Rose Art Museum der Brandeis University uraufgeführt.

Lucier hält weiterhin Vorträge und tritt in Asien, Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten auf. Er hat mit John Ashbery (Theme) und Robert Wilson (Skin, Meat, Bone) zusammengearbeitet. In den letzten vier Jahren hat er eine Reihe von Kompositionen sowie Transkriptionen älterer Werke für das Ever Present Orchestra gemacht, eine Gruppe, die sich der Aufführung seiner Musik widmet. Zu diesen Werken gehören Semicircle (2017), Tilted Arc (2018, Solo-Glockenspiel und Ensemble), Double Helix (2018, Gitarrenquartett), EPO-5 (2019), Arrigoni Bridge (2020), Hanover (2015), Braid (2012) und Two Circles (2012). Weitere aktuelle Werke sind Ricochet Lady (2016, Solo-Glockenspiel), Sickle (2017, Theremin und Ensemble), Silk (2018, verstärkte Spinne auf Seidengewebe), Heartbeats to the Moon and Back (2018, Erde-Mond-Erde-Kommunikation) und Halo (2019, eine oder mehrere Violinen).

Zu den schriftlichen Veröffentlichungen von Luciers Musik und Ideen gehören Chambers (1980), seine gesammelten Partituren zwischen 1965–77, Refections/Reflexionen (1995), eine zweisprachige Ausgabe von Luciers Partituren, Interviews und Schriften, Music 109: Notes on Experimental Music (2012), Eight Lectures on Experimental Music (2017), und Musik-Konzepte 180/181 (2018), eine deutsche Sammlung von Essays und Analysen.

Alvin Lucier wurde von der Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in den USA mit dem Lifetime Achievement Award ausgezeichnet, erhielt die Ehrendoktorwürde der University of Plymouth/England und war 2018 der Gala Honoree im ISSUE Project Room für außergewöhnliche Führungsqualitäten und Engagement in der experimentellen Kunstgemeinschaft. Im November 2011 feierte die Wesleyan University den Ruhestand von Alvin Lucier mit einem dreitägigen Festival.

Seite drucken
© ️Amanda Lucier