de en

— This event has already taken place —

Resonances I

Ensemble Modern and Ilan Volkov with new works by Anahita Abbasi, Wukir Suryadi and Yiran Zhao

Fri 11 August 2023, 19.30

Lichtenbergschule (Sporthalle)

Wukir Suryadi: Madep Manteb (2022/23, WP)

Anahita Abbasi: Situation XII – in our dwelling, we reside (2023, WP)

Yiran Zhao: fictional nonfiction (2023, WP)

Wukir Suryadi (Industrial Mutant, Gema delay Synt Senyawa, Toraja comb and hat)
Ensemble Modern
Ilan Volkov (Musical Direction)

In its more than 40-year history, Frankfurt based Ensemble Modern has built up an extensive and exciting archive. Since the summer of 2021, the ensemble has been busy systematically sifting through, indexing, and ultimately digitizing this diverse collection of correspondences, photos, scores, performance materials, and sound documents in order to make it accessible to the public. Together with the Israeli conductor Ilan Volkov and the International Music Institute Darmstadt (IMD), which is acting in an advisory capacity for this project, the idea arose to invite four international artists from various fields to work with the archive and to develop new projects from this encounter. The aim was to open up the horizon for something new and original from within the archive. The format – whether ensemble composition, installation, performance or digital event – was completely open. With temporary residencies in the apartment of the Deutsche Ensemble Akademie (DEA), the selected composers Anahita Abbasi (IR), Wukir Suryadi (ID), Yiran Zhao (CN) and Anda Kryeziu (KOS) were able to take advantage of synergy effects in all directions: to shape the various levels of the project on site in a building complex with the Ensemble Modern, to reach the archive, the rehearsal rooms, the instrument cellar on short distances, to be in exchange with ensemble members and the team, up to and including direct musical try-outs. For the musicians of the Ensemble Modern it was a special incentive to accompany the composers and to report on the history as well as to learn something new themselves through archive discoveries. In a research and work process that has now lasted almost two years, the composers have found ways of translating their artistic thoughts into concrete works: three ensemble pieces by Anahita Abbasi, Wukir Suryadi and Yiran Zhao will be premiered as part of the Summer Course on 11 August and a new concert installation by Anda Kryeziu will follow on 12 August.

A project of Ensemble Modern and the International Music Institute Darmstadt (IMD) with the participation of Ilan Volkov

Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media. With the friendly support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation and the Ensemble Modern Patronatsgesellschaft e. V.

© ️Wonge Bergmann